Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.4 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Whats happening with Unity development?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sibz9000, Jun 30, 2020 at 5:43 AM.

1. Sibz9000

Sibz9000

Hi All,

I've been working with unity for about 3 years. I am a personal user and currently been experimenting and learning hoping to take a dive into making a real game in the future. I knew this would take time, lots of time, so I decided to invest into learning the cutting edge. I have worked with the Entities, NetCode, Physics and UI Elements packages however as I learnt how to use them I reached a point where my demands for those packages was beyond the level they are developed to.

So I've had a break and come back and to my disappointment there is very little progress. Things slated to be out of preview early this year have been put off for another year. I just can't use these packages and have to wait.

My questions are really to Unity, but I don't expect an answer, so I ask here for a community perspective so I can make an informed decision as to what I do from here.

Whats happening with the development of Unity Engine and these once cutting edge packages?
    Has development stalled?
    Can I expect the pace to pick up or is it only going to get slower?

There's been a severe lack of communication from unity and new API documentation is appalling. Bugs reported for latest alpha release use to get responses in a day or so, now I get a message months later asking me if the latest version resolves the issue, by which point the project I was working on no longer builds with the latest release.