Search Unity

Whats happening with Unity development?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sibz9000, Jun 30, 2020.

1. Sibz9000

Sibz9000

Hi All,

I've been working with unity for about 3 years. I am a personal user and currently been experimenting and learning hoping to take a dive into making a real game in the future. I knew this would take time, lots of time, so I decided to invest into learning the cutting edge. I have worked with the Entities, NetCode, Physics and UI Elements packages however as I learnt how to use them I reached a point where my demands for those packages was beyond the level they are developed to.

So I've had a break and come back and to my disappointment there is very little progress. Things slated to be out of preview early this year have been put off for another year. I just can't use these packages and have to wait.

My questions are really to Unity, but I don't expect an answer, so I ask here for a community perspective so I can make an informed decision as to what I do from here.

Whats happening with the development of Unity Engine and these once cutting edge packages?
    Has development stalled?
    Can I expect the pace to pick up or is it only going to get slower?

There's been a severe lack of communication from unity and new API documentation is appalling. Bugs reported for latest alpha release use to get responses in a day or so, now I get a message months later asking me if the latest version resolves the issue, by which point the project I was working on no longer builds with the latest release.

I know C++ so I could switch to Unreal, but I have become really proficient in C# through my learning Unity Engine, so if I have to switch I see it as a massive waste of time invested and would mean another massive investment to be made to learn how to use Unreal Engine.

Thanks for your input!

2. xshadowmintx

xshadowmintx