Search Unity

Question What's everything I need to know to program a snake-like creature?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SoundStormLabs, Jun 5, 2023.

1. SoundStormLabs

SoundStormLabs

It's a vague question, but I'm starting to learn C# and I'm realizing most tutorials are for humanoid creatures. But, something I want to try out is implementing a snake-like creature. If I'm just starting out, what are things I need to make sure to note for constructing either NCP or controlled script for a creature that moves in this manner?

2. orionsyndrome

orionsyndrome

Starting out means doing exactly what the most popular tutorials do, and learning the very basic of things. If they don't do snakes, there is quite possibly a good reason for that.

Your question has a thousand answers, none of which is at your current level of understanding. The easiest one, however, would be to simply learn how to animate a snake, and then apply this animation in Unity. You don't need Unity to make such an animation though.

If you were hoping for "well click here and there" boy I wish such high concepts were easy to make anywhere.

Natural snake motion has many many invisible physical constraints that make it look natural. To make any kind of fluid procedural movement is at the very top of mastery of animation, physics, and procedural generation.

However you could go after a hybrid approach with classical animation and blend trees, but you would still need to learn these areas well, before you could try it with a snake.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2023
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  3. orionsyndrome

orionsyndrome

A very advanced answer to your question is "by implementing a physics solver for rope-like behavior that can collide with the environment but avoid self-collisions". And I don't know that many people who can pull this off. It's even beyond me, and I'm occasionally tipping my toes in rope physics and crazy stuff you won't easily find in a Youtube tutorial.