Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

What's a good tutorial for using multiple scenes?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by michael75837, May 20, 2016.

1. michael75837

michael75837

I'm new to Unity, but I do have some programming experience.

What I'd like to do as a learning project is a 3d turn-based strategy game (very simple at first...). It'll have a main menu, settings, load/save, and different environments (e.g. towns, indoors, maps, etc.) I can create objects in Blender and add them to a scene, and I've experimented with programmatically creating game objects and associating them with C# objects/containers/code.

What is the best way to use the scenes in the Unity editor? I'd like to pick an approach that will scale well so that I don't have to recreate/rewrite the scene management stuff later. Will this work:
    1. Create a mostly-empty "root" scene which is the default scene. Then add other scenes as needed programmatically.
    2. Create a separate scene in the editor for each major aspect of gameplay. e.g. one for walking in a town, one for battle, one for shopping, one for settings...
    Any thoughts or advice? Links?

Here, under Known Issues

"Cross-scene references are not supported but also not prevented."

Does this mean scripts attached to objects in one scene should not directly access another scene's objects/scripts? If so, how do I make them communicate indirectly?

2. crispybeans

crispybeans

Hi there

There is no "best" way to use scene in unity, you can use scenes in many diffirent ways and people tend to do it diffirently depending on the sort of prject you 're doing. If you're just starting you just put everything into one scene and make a system for loading in a level from another scene later on, or just stick with one scene for everything- its easier to prototype that way.