Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

What version of Unity should we be using for Tizen?

Discussion in 'Tizen' started by kenlem, Sep 8, 2016.

  1. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    It clear that a number of people here are having issues with building for Tizen. Can anyone tell us what version of Unity we should be using? 5.4 would be the latest stable but that can't build to the emulator.

    I was able to build with the latest beta and it passed validation but the app doesn't start on an actual Tizen device.
     
  2. Masterfalcon

    Masterfalcon

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    364
    What device are you having trouble running on? What is the OS build number on it?
     
  3. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    Samsung Z1, Z2, Z3 2.4

    App passed validation but Tizen couldn't start the app on any device. They didn't provide logs and I don't have a real device yet.
     
  4. Masterfalcon

    Masterfalcon

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    364
    So those were tests run by samsung on their own devices?
     
  5. Jonny-Roy

    Jonny-Roy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Kenlem,

    Use one of these to test it's an RDP essentially to a real device...although a little laggy! but you get a reasonable idea.

    http://developer.samsung.com/remotetestlab/rtlDeviceList.action?os=103

    Thanks,

    Jon
     
  6. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
  7. Jonny-Roy

    Jonny-Roy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Oh, yeah, you have to hunt though them a little some people crash them and leave them without resetting them, you can also try and push a reset if it connects but doesn't boot properly.
     
  8. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    Thanks!

    I've tried on 2 different mac without success. Wondering if it's a port issue. Maybe I'll try using a PC.
     
  9. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    I was able to get the remote lab working but don't know how to install a TPK or get to logs. Any suggestions?

    EDIT: Found Help docs... reading...
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2016
  10. FreebordMAD

    FreebordMAD

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    633
    Right click outside device screen to install apps.
    Right click inside screen to make screenshots etc.
     
  11. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    Thanks. Found that. Anything I upload fails installation because of application permissions. No idea why.
     
  12. FreebordMAD

    FreebordMAD

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    633
    Have you set any permissions? If so remove all of them. Unity will set the display and the internet permission by default, but if you also set those in the player settings then they are doubled and your package will be invalid...
     
  13. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    I tried once setting no permissions then tried again setting all permissions. Same behavior.
     
  14. Masterfalcon

    Masterfalcon

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    364
    After removing all the permissions the RTL is still complaining about permissions?

    What Unity version? I also assume that the RTL device is running Tizen 2.4, is that correct?
     
  15. kenlem

    kenlem

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,630
    Unity 5.5.0b3 and RTL was running Tizen 2.4.
     
  16. Masterfalcon

    Masterfalcon

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    364
    Could you share the log from the RTL device? I don't know if you can set log levels to view but if you can could you enable everything?
     
  17. Jonny-Roy

    Jonny-Roy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    They do, but you get quite a bit of junk in them to filter out (to do with the remote connection) but they are fairly easily filtered.