Search Unity

What to consider when making an online game

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by eltonstrydom, Oct 2, 2017.

1. eltonstrydom

eltonstrydom

Okay so I am going to keep this simple and to the point. I have been coding for a few years and I am a pretty decent coder and can come up with solutions to problems quite fast. I am saying that to get the fact out there that I fully realize how much work and effort it will take to attempt to even begin making an online game. I have made a few games in unity one of which was pretty big and required some intense and scalable code which involved design patterns etc. I can code with c#, php, vb, java, python and I am quite comfortable with database coding.

So i want to make a little online rpg with a small map just 1 class to start with with literally just one ability (want to keep it as BASIC as possible just to get all the networking sorted). I want to store player data in a database( will be using wampserver with mySql on my localhost in the meanwhile) using php for my queries etc and I will be using photon's server( which I have used before) for the actual gameplay.

I realize this is a long and quite hard to answer in one go question, but please bare with me. Basically what I am asking is if anyone can give me advice or tips related to the following. What should I keep in mind with my database if there are for instance a few hundred connection request when saving data. Should my abilities information be saved in code and just be referenced with an ID to the db to save player spells/items/talents or whatever can be saved.

I just want to know if there are any things I should start thinking of in the early stage of development to avoid major issues in the future. I have already coded a login/account creation system and can successfully connect and spawn players, but at this point the database doesn't save any actual player data.