Search Unity

What Should I Model Myself?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by HappyBoyJr, Feb 28, 2018.

1. HappyBoyJr

HappyBoyJr

This is not about how to model. This is about what to model.

I am new to the program and looking to develop some games in my spare times. I am wondering what elements I should design myself and what elements I should just download.

I already know to never use someone else's human or monster character, but is it acceptable to use a sky box, tree, road, grass, etc. made by someone else?

Thank you.

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I don't understand the question. It certainly is acceptable to use someone else's human or monster character that you have properly licensed (e.g. by buying it through the Asset Store or DigitalGift.Shop). It's also acceptable to model everything yourself, of course.

You're new to Unity, and possibly to game development in general, so you shouldn't be worrying about this. Make your game using whatever assets get the job done. Lean on the Asset Store, or make your game entirely out of spheres and cubes. It literally does not matter. The greatest risk to your project is that you will never finish it. (And actually that's fine, if you learn something from the effort and do better on your next attempt.) So don't get let stuff like this be an excuse — get coding!

3. verybinary

verybinary

It all depends on what fits into the theme and feeling of your art. If you find a skybox that doesn't look weird in your world, by all means, use it(while crediting the creator).
    There is no sense reinventing the wheel. Have a car that needs wheels? There are many talented wheel engineers that can make a wheel much better than you(Sorry if you are a certified wheel engineer) and many make wheels just to put them on cars because their cars look like a 4 year old drew them.