Search Unity

what should I do to let clients join to the host scene in online games

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ziyad1160, Jun 28, 2022.

  1. ziyad1160

    ziyad1160

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    hi, I'm working on online game, and I'm facing an issue related to network management, what should I do to let clients join to the host scene, as you know normally they are spawning in different scenes but what happening is syncing their animation and transform, and what should I use (photon or mirror, etc..) as a network manager?
     
  2. Punfish

    Punfish

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Posts:
    401
    Fish-Networking has this feature built-in. As far as I know FishNet is the only solution with a network scene manager that handles single, additive, stacked, addressable scenes completely included without having to write custom code.
    There's also a ton of other features that really makes FishNet stand out over other options as well.
    https://fish-networking.gitbook.io/docs/ is the documentation. There's also a link to our very active community in there.
     
  3. ziyad1160

    ziyad1160

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    thanks for answering but i tried to use fish network but, unfortunately , that did not solved the problem



    let me explain , for example :
    this is one of the clients ,everything seems to be fine but the first problem is the second player is doing the exact movements that i do
    upload_2022-6-29_22-9-12.png

    and this is the second player:
    upload_2022-6-29_22-12-36.png
    first there are only 2 players as shown in the hierarchy , but (same problem at the first player) the he is doing what the second player do + the first player spawned in different world ( cuz i imported a dungeon generator that generate random maze every time you enter to the game ) and that is my main problem , i want to let the clients join to the same scene to solve this problem (not to join to a different worlds and sync their movements)
     
  4. Punfish

    Punfish

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Posts:
    401
    You probably are missing the IsOwner check. https://fish-networking.gitbook.io/docs/manual/guides/ownership
    Check that link out, there is specifically a part about moving your own object. Let me know if that helps.
     
  5. ziyad1160

    ziyad1160

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    ok that solved the character controller , but what should i do to solve the random maze generator problem?