Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

What Projects would you Recommend a beginner to make when starting out

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by indie_sarah, Oct 27, 2021.

1. indie_sarah

indie_sarah

I'm new to game development using unity, what sorts of projects or tutorials would you recommend a beginner to make when they're just starting out in unity or game development in general.

Should I be making clones or variations of popular games, or should I make a totally new kind of game with different sorts of mechanics, should I be focusing on completion, or should I be coding right from the beginning? There are a lot of choices on where to start from 2D games or 3D games and with them a lot of projects to follow. I had a friend who started by making text based adventure games and is now making very good-looking and complex 3d role playing games. However, I have another friend who started by making 2d games of very low effort and is still stuck on making the same sort of games.

Are there any resources which I should be aware of that would help me in making games, at this stage should I participate in Game Jams. Moreover, what projects did you guys made starting out, what resources or tutorials helped you the most?

Lyndon4 and MadeFromPolygons like this.
  2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

It honestly doesnt matter as long as you:

• Scope small, smaller than you think your current skillset is
    • Challenge yourself - try to learn things rather than just copy/follow tutorials. Tutorials are fine, but always make sure after to test and practise so you actually learn
    • Actually finish - its easy to get carried away but scope small and keep it small, finish and release and move on
    • Scope a little bit bigger / challenge yourself a little bit more the next time