Search Unity

What modules should I install along with Unity?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by hobeypadlanxx, Jun 15, 2019.

1. hobeypadlanxx

hobeypadlanxx

I'm new to Unity and I'm about to install it. It asked me what version to install, so I selected the latest. It then asked me what modules should I add to my installment. There is a lot of stuff like Android Build Support, iOS Build Support and many others. Which modules should I install?

Art_3_miz, shubha360 and Tonymotion like this.
  2. Vryken

Vryken

Depends on where you would want to publish your application.
    Android build support allows you to publish to Android devices, iOS build support to iOS devices, Linux to Linux, etc.

If you're just wanting to learn at this time and aren't planning on publishing anything, you don't really need to install any build support modules.

Edit: Also, when you say you selected the latest version of Unity to install, make sure that version doesn't end in a letter 'a' or 'b'. Those are alpha and beta versions of the engine respectively.

The current latest stable release is 2019.1.6 as of the time of this post.

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Make sure when you install the "latest" build it has an "f" in the name. As already mentioned, don't install alpha/beta builds unless you specifically want to time travel to the future of Unity and are OK with the house being a mess.

As for the actual question, depends on what platforms you plan to build for. If you just want to mess around in the editor, you don't need to install any of the optional platforms. The editor will have mono build support for your OS version built in. You can always reinstall the same version and add any of those optional platforms again later anyways, so don't over think it.