Search Unity

What means use camera.Render() to render the camera manually?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by LeavesFalls, May 11, 2015.

1. LeavesFalls

LeavesFalls

Well... I'm a newbie in Unity3D...
    Recently I noticed the introduction of Camera.Render() in "Script API" of unity documentation mentioned that
    "To make use of this feature, create a camera and disable it. Then call Render on it".
    I don't know what this means, so I make a test. Just attach a script to the main camera.
    The c# script attached to my main camera :
    public class Test : MonoBehavior{
    void Start(){
    camera.enable = false;
    }
    void Update(){
    camera.Render();
    }
    }

I think this could render something, but nothing appear except for black, and the blue background is also disappear. So I guess I was wrong.
    The introduction of Camera.Render() shows an example, but it just render to texture. Does it mean this method cannot render to window?
    I wanna close the automatic rendering, and the camera just render the scene when I call some method, meanwhile I wanna control the frame count of rendering, and get the duration of render...
    Sorry, this is the first time I write a thread, maybe the question is unclear...
    But I really need help.
    That's all. Thanks for reading.

2. imaginaryhuman

imaginaryhuman

You have to disable the camera first as it says, otherwise the camera will render automatically. It just lets you control `when` the graphics are actually drawn.

3. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Could you give an example when this would be useful to use?

4. CodeMonke234

CodeMonke234

The textbook example would be using a RenderTexture.

In this case, the camera is disabled until you call Render() when you want to capture the camera view to ta texture.

theANMATOR2b likes this.
  5. LeavesFalls

LeavesFalls

Thank you for your reply.