Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

What kind of hardware you use for Unity 3d

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aorlfreelancer, Mar 24, 2020.

  1. aorlfreelancer

    aorlfreelancer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    So hello community!
    I would be interested to know what kind of hardware you use for Unity3D game development.
    In my case i have 2 pc rigs (both amd cpu's)
    16 Gb Ram and one is cpu 4 core with nvidia and another one 8 core with amd Card R9 270x with ssd each of one 500 GB.
    Then for my mobile freelance work i use acer predator triton 500 , which too have 16GB of ram and ssd and intel cpu.
    Major workstation is 4 core amd cpu 4,2 Ghz memory DDR3 .
    "Build" workstation is 8 core amd cpu with 4.5 Ghz memory DDR3
    So what is your setup , one funny thing which i noticed about Unity3D the baking can be pretty annoying and automating rendering must be disabled if you wish to stay productive.
    You can look my demo work here https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLozDg-R9qcqRpXiLw6azW_zALgMMO78v5 , i still learning how to use Unity engine and i hope to be able to learn a lot about it.
     
  2. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,322
    My current workstation is an AMD Ryzen 5 1600X, 32GB DDR4-2666, GTX 1080, 1TB SATA SSD, but due to the demands of my biggest project I'm planning an upgrade to one of the Ryzen 9 CPUs and NVMe SSDs. Builds and imports just take too long with a large project.
     
    aorlfreelancer likes this.
  3. KokkuHub

    KokkuHub

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    150
    If you have to choose, go for the NVMe SSD first. I have a 6 core 12 threads i7 and most of the tasks Unity performs during building, importing and opening projects barely stress the CPU. It's mostly I/O bound.
     
  4. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,322
    Oh I already have the NVMe SSDs. Last Black Friday had fantastic deals.

    Have you worked with the HDRP yet? My last build was two hours long with the processor pegged at 100% load almost the entire time with the majority of the build spent on generating thousands of shader variants. Unity will cache them for future builds but the project changes enough that I still have hundreds to generate every build.
     
  5. unit_dev123

    unit_dev123

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    619
    Remember hdrp is quiet experimental so if you only using for yourself and playing around is fine. Is not yet recommend for other purpose.
     
  6. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,322
    The High Definition Render Pipeline has been production ready since the release of Unity 2019.3.

    https://blogs.unity3d.com/2020/01/28/unity-2019-3-is-now-available/
    https://blogs.unity3d.com/2020/02/24/hdrp-out-of-preview-in-2019-3/

    Game development is a rapidly evolving industry. While you're free to treat new technologies as experimental right up until they're proven, there is a reason why the phrase "the early bird gets the worm" exists. My latest paid contract involves the new render pipelines.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  7. unit_dev123

    unit_dev123

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    619
    Well is different in practice, my friend was making a combat style game with baked light and hdrp features to begin with and now he regrets decision.

    Be careful with projected articles, and use experience to help u decide friend.
     
  8. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,322
    I am using experience and experience says that the benefits almost always outweigh the headaches and in this case the benefit is getting a paid job I may not have had otherwise. ;)
     
    angrypenguin likes this.
  9. unit_dev123

    unit_dev123

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    619
    oh ok friend, i was just worried that sometimes u can start project and get stuck later down line. I'm sure if you using these features and shader graph it will work out fine for say example, 'combat style game.'

    but sometimes investors and share holders can pull the plug on projects quiet suddenly you understand.
     
  10. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,448
  11. Lesnikus5

    Lesnikus5

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    67
    A year ago, I programmed artificial intelligence for a racing game on a very old computer 2005-2008 year and it was great! Any non-optimized section of code made the game lag wildly and I immediately knew what the problem was, without even looking at the profiler. This allowed me not to delay code optimization for later and eliminate the brakes immediately.
     
  12. I_Am_DreReid

    I_Am_DreReid

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    348
    An old S***ty excuse of a dell e6400 with 4gb of ddr2 ram and ye old 250gb hd. Oh the graphics card is so old the newest version of blender that i can use is from 2014. And even still i used it just fine to create a game fully completed which i need to upload soon lol.
     
  13. aorlfreelancer

    aorlfreelancer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I_Am_DreReid , interesting , but you need to build the game, do you use some cloud services or just build it on your own laptop?
    Then there is big question how do you test your games.
     
  14. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7,769
    Built this computer around 5 years back, and unfortunately it is performing great still so can't yet justify a new rig. Though I keep teasing the wife how any new money coming in is "new computer monies". :D
    i7-5820k with mild all core OC to 3.8ghz (6 cores)
    16GB RAM
    GTX 980
    1TB Samsung SSD
    2 x 27" 1080P monitors and 1 x 50" 1080P TV wrapping around an L shaped desk.

    The 5820k was pretty awesome when it came out and when I built this machine. Today it has similar performance to a Ryzen 2600, so it is pretty mid range and still good enough for anything I throw at it.

    I also often develop on my 13" 2 in 1 Dell Inspiron. Dual core i7 with 16GB RAM and 512GB SSD. It has crap video, but that's fine. I use it for min spec video testing because of that. The RAM and SSD are upgrades over stock (came with 8GB and Dell says that is the max it supports, but that's probably because they don't themselves sell a 16GB upgrade, also came with 256GB SSD). I usually create builds on the desktop, since they take at least twice as long on the laptop, same with even switching target platforms.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2020 at 7:34 PM
    aorlfreelancer likes this.
  15. bobisgod234

    bobisgod234

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    310
    i7-4790K @ 4Ghz
    32GB ram
    500Gb SSD + 2x2TB HDD
    nVidia GTX 960

    Found it laying by the side of the road, so I am pretty happy with the price to performance ratio.
     
    Ryiah, angrypenguin and Joe-Censored like this.
  16. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7,769
    That's a good deal then!
     
    bobisgod234 likes this.
unityunity