Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

What is the status of InputSystem 1.4.0?

Discussion in 'Input System' started by kyubuns, May 23, 2022.

  1. kyubuns

    kyubuns

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    I encountered the bug in InputSystem 1.3.0, searched and found the fix in 1.4.0.
    I was going to update to 1.4.0, but I still can't select it, although on CHANGELOG.md it says it was released on 2022-04-10.
    What is the status of InputSystem 1.4.0?
     
    jukibom likes this.
  2. ilikeshiny

    ilikeshiny

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    It's currently listed as "Pre-release" on Github: https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/InputSystem/releases/tag/1.4.0

    You can try using it for yourself by downloading the "Source code (zip)" from that github link, extracting it, then in Unity going to: Package Manager -> Plus Button -> Add Package From Disk -> <Downloads>/InputSystem-1.4.0/Packages/com.unity.inputsystem/package.json

    Fwiw: The 1.4.0 update does not work properly in my project. It throws a bunch of "Type of instance in array does not match expected type" errors, IndexOutOfRange exceptions when trying to resolve bindings, and completely broke controls in my game other than for UI navigation. Hopefully they fix it before it's officially "Released".
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2022
  3. kyubuns

    kyubuns

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Thank you!
    I will try Pre-release.
     
  4. rubendariohh

    rubendariohh

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Posts:
    32
    Hi!. Did you have issues with the 1.4 pre release too?
     
  5. Jasozz

    Jasozz

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    I did - I tried out 1.4.0 and 1.4.1, as I -really- need Mouse Wheel Up/Down to be rebindable separately, and neither worked properly for me. They seemed to completely break certain inputs for me, like WASD would only register maybe 1 in 10 presses. Reverted back to 1.3.0 and it works just fine.
     
    Weidz_ likes this.
  6. ChichoRD

    ChichoRD

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    It seems like it is not being released yet due to some major code changes that differ from the 1.3.0 as it is my personal case of use:
    I was looking for the changelog in which the posibility of making radial fills with button prompts is possible. That is as here is said in 1.4.0. Hence I downloaded it since I cannot use the package manager with that version yet.
    However adding said functionality to my project via upgrading removed another key action in my game (being able to register double Vector2 presses to perform a dash).

    I hope an official stable release comes soon.
    Otherwise I was wondering if it is possible to combine different scripts of the input system from differerent versions, in my case the whole input system 1.4.0 with whatever handled the multitap interaction in 1.3.0.
     
  7. Bearsauce

    Bearsauce

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Posts:
    26
    I updated to 1.4.1 and I am now also constantly getting "Type of instance in array does not match expected type" (PlayerInput.cs:1735) errors on scene changes. Did you come up with any solution other than rollback?
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2022
  8. ilikeshiny

    ilikeshiny

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Nope, I rolled back to 1.3.0 and am just waiting for the official 1.4.x release.
     
    Bearsauce likes this.
  9. dmytro_at_unity

    dmytro_at_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2021
    Posts:
    212
  10. MarsCitizen_1

    MarsCitizen_1

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Posts:
    20
    1.4.1 Still suffers from a major issue that prevents it as a viable option for local multiplayer projects:

    (These links below all discuss the same pool of issues)
    Vote on this bug!
    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...when-using-multiple-multiplayer-event-systems

    Discussions:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/input-system-1-3-0-released-more-fixes.1222632/#post-7922536
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/cas...reaks-interaction-and-button-visuals.1238977/
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/cas...-system-breaks-transition-color-tint.1235308/

    tldr;
    • Button visual states flash/flicker frequently.
    • Selectable elements seem to simultaneously have "Disabled" and "Normal" interaction states active. Color schemes are not obeyed, Dropdowns look silly with a disabled BG color on every item.
    • Players can lose selected UI GameObject when other players' canvas objects update.
     
  11. Zephni

    Zephni

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Posts:
    100
    After reverting back to 1.3.0 which fixes the issues some have mentioned above, it now gives me a different error when using:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. InputSystem.onAnyButtonPress.Call(ctrl => {/* Do something with button press */});
    upload_2022-9-21_10-0-56.png

    Is this just yet another bug with the input system? I also tried v1.4.1 but that has the same issues as 1.4.2 as far as I can see.
     
  12. emredesu

    emredesu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2021
    Posts:
    55
    Yep, this bug was confirmed by Unity and was fixed with 1.4.1. I'm having the same issue with the onAnyButtonPress event (also on 1.3.0), seems like we don't have much of an option other than waiting until Unity fixes the issues within the current version.
     
  13. nehvaleem

    nehvaleem

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    418
    Answering the question in the thread title: broken.
     
    emredesu and avataris-io like this.
  14. avataris-io

    avataris-io

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Hey!
    When do you plan to resolve errors regarding resolving bindings? It would be great to have it fixed because it makes a lot of problems.
    We experienced a lot of issues with the new Input system 1.4.x, so we will switch back to 1.3.0. It's also buggy, but at least it's more stable and you don't need to restart unity after each going to play mode, because InputSystem stops working.