Search Unity

What is te best animation software out there for CGI?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by eldemar, Aug 31, 2008.

1. eldemar

eldemar

I am a business programmer with some experience in game development. I have recently decided to try my hand at CGI animation as well, and ran across your excellent forum today.

Funding is not a concern per-se, wen considering my question.

I latched onto a thread here comparing Bender to Maya, and their export/import capabilities. I I have also run across other programs out there like lightwave and renderman.

My concern is that i will waste valuable time learning the ins and outs of something (like Bender) only to find it does not produce video quality scenes. I am going through some of the Bender tutorials now, and downloading a maya trial.

So what is the bottom line if I want to make a CGI film? I plan on starting off on a XPS quad core, and have 5 or 6 other computers laying around.

What should I buy, in the opinion of those on the board, to get quality models and scenes?

And, knowing that I will need others on my team, are people using freeware like bender to produce cetain aspects of a scene, then importing them? What's the norm? If I spend a few months learning Bender, will I be unable to export the stuff into a faster renderer later? Perhaps I should have used something different to begin with, if thats the case?

Does anyone know what Final Fantasy 7 advent was based on? Or the last 2 appleseeds?

Any help is appreciated. It is hard to make a decision when I am new to the field. I assume many have already gone down this road, I appreciate any feedback. Perhaps I can avoid one mistake, by starting off with the right software.

Thanks

Paul
    Eldemar@Aol.com

2. GusM

GusM

3. psynopticM

psynopticM

As a beginner you might also want to ask yourself: how easy is it to find quality learning materials for the cgi package in question?