Search Unity

What inputs to support for PC game, keyboard, controller, or both

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Raidenwins, May 8, 2017.

1. Raidenwins

Raidenwins

So I am an indie developer, working on a third person action adventure-like game in Unity. So far, while developing the game, I've only been playing and testing it with a keyboard. However, now I want to add support for a controller (Xbox One for example) as well. My question is, should I support inputs with a keyboard and a controller both? I personally am a console gamer and I only play games with a controller, so that is my preferred inputs scheme. In addition, supporting only one control scheme would reduce my development effort. I do realize though that, since the game in question is a PC game, I would think a lot of gamers would want to use a keyboard.

What is the prevailing design philosophy on this? Do most players on Steam, for example, prefer a keyboard? Would there be any harm in only supporting a controller?

DavidSJones likes this.
  2. longroadhwy

longroadhwy

You should design you game with both keyboard/mouse and controllers in mind. You should give your players the maximum choice when it comes to input devices that can used with your game.

If you are not against using a third party library for handling input I would recommend using Rewired for input handling.

If you are not familiar with Rewired here is a simple example that shows using a variety of controller types and keyboard. So you get a general idea of workflow.

https://forum.unity3d.com/threads/c...ship-or-aircraft-cockpit.455223/#post-2957041

3. longroadhwy

longroadhwy

I think you will get a large number of complaints for not supporting keyboard/mouse and only supporting controllers.. Some people may not want to purchase a controller just to play a game and just expect keyboard and mouse as a minimum standard for any game of third person action/adventure game..