Search Unity

What exactly is LineRenderer doing to draw a line on the screen?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by TheLazyEngineer, Apr 27, 2020.

1. TheLazyEngineer

TheLazyEngineer

Can someone explain to me how the LineRenderer component works?

I understand it uses an array of 3D points that define the segments, but how exactly is Unity rendering this to the screen?

From my understanding, there's no mesh, so I'm kind of confused what's going on because everytime i've rendered something its using a mesh and material.

The reason I'm asking is because I'd like to implement my own version of a Line Renderer, so i'm trying to figure out what Unity's LineRenderer does to draw on the screen. Can anyone explain?

Thanks.

2. bgolus

bgolus

It’s a mesh.

At render time it constructs a mesh for the camera rendering it.

3. TheLazyEngineer

TheLazyEngineer

Ah! So it is! I thought maybe it was doing something else..
    Thank you for the clarification, i'm very new to this!

4. TheLazyEngineer

TheLazyEngineer

BGolus,

Another question for you regarding this, if you dont mind.
    Why does the Line Renderer component not have a mesh filter and mesh renderer component on it if it is using a mesh? My understanding is that any time you want to render a mesh you must have both a mesh filter component to hold the mesh and a mesh renderer component that references that filter to render it.

Im assuming LineRenderer does not use these components (since I do not see them on the gameobject). Does LineRenderer bypass this? If so, how?

Based on what I've read, there's also the Graphics class with functions like DrawMesh(...) that it could be using?
    Or possibly the lower level GL class?

I'm trying to get an idea of my options when it comes to mesh rendering.
    Thank you.

5. bgolus

bgolus