Search Unity

What do i need to be a game programmer?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BrunoPuccio, Jun 11, 2018.

1. BrunoPuccio

BrunoPuccio

what kind of skills and knowledge do i need to be a game programmer and work for a games company?

i have been studying programming for almost two years and learnt about OOP, web and databases. i also made some little projects in unity, some of them were using uNet. i even made some plugins for a game called Rust(i love this game) but i still feel that i don't know anything.

i don't want to make a game of my own, i want to be a programmer. I know i still have a lot to learn but i don't know what to learn next

Edit: i am currently reading this book
    Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics

Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  2. iamthwee

iamthwee

imo its 'doing', nothing beats firing up unity and whipping through their tuts.

3. Pixelith

Pixelith

It's all different depending on the company. Some use special in house engines, some use Unreal, some use Unity.

JamesArndt likes this.
  4. passerbycmc

passerbycmc

Make some games, build a portfolio and start applying, you won't know if you are ready till you get a job.

angrypenguin likes this.
  5. Antony-Blackett

Antony-Blackett

Technical skills are great, but I also find communication and design skills are very useful for programmers to have too.

But I think good programming skills, a passion for games and a willingness to work long hours :( will get you into most bigger games companies.

JamesArndt and Deleted User like this.
  6. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Best way to figure out what you need is to actually start applying for jobs. Look and see what skills are listed on the job adverts. Go the the interviews and see what they are asking for. You will quickly get a sense of whats needed.

Deleted User likes this.
  7. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

Nobody cares what you feel. :)