Search Unity

What can Unity create with 360 vidoes?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by khofstadter, Jul 21, 2021.

1. khofstadter

khofstadter

Dear Unity Forum

(I am new to Unity and 360 videos.)

I plan to record 360 videos with the Instra 360 Pro 2 camera and wonder what Unity can create with the 360 files recorded.

As far as I understand Unity could be used as an alternative to Adobe Premier and other editing software e.g. the Insta360 STITCHER, however I am not sure what advantages Unity has.

Are there perhaps some tutorials you could recommend?

Many thanks, k

2. mgear

mgear

can use unity to at least for:
    - view 360 images and videos
    - create mobile/desktop/vr apps that have 360 views/features
    - can overlay 3d models, UI and other interactive things, hotspots, over 360 images/videos
    - can record videos inside 360 images
    - can record 360 videos (asset store has plugins to easily do that)
    - can play stereo video (display separate 360 images/videos for each eye)

cannot use unity for stitching images (unless you write/find script and algorithm that does it)

I wouldn't use unity for video editing.. although not sure what you would like to edit or record there.

khofstadter likes this.
  3. khofstadter

khofstadter

thanks!

one goal is to capture/recreate internal and external environments (e.g. a room in a museum with images on the wall or a garden with statues) and embed something like a virtual tour in a website, something like this: https://casajacaranda.360hdtours.co.uk/

another goal is to create 360 videos which 'move' like this: https://storylabresearch.com/projects/respitefromreality/

also, is it possible to create a virtual reality (VR) based on (rendered from) a 360 video in which we could walk around with an avatar - similar to video games like Doom (first person perspective) or Tomb Raider (third person perspective)?