Search Unity

What are the skills required to develop a game for mobile market?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by rogersands, Apr 3, 2015.

1. rogersands

rogersands

Hi there

I am beginner in game development (But not in programming.I have 3+ years experience in Java).Now I want to make a game for mobile market.I want to know what are the skills require and how and where I could start learning those skills?

Like(Audio,Graphics,Animation,Programing and others)

Thanks

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Make a game
    Launch it on mobile
    Repeat

You'll quickly realise what you don't know.

Landern and paul81 like this.
  3. Ness

Ness

You can buy everything you lack skills in on asset store. You can definitely skip audio and animation production, but having some graphics knowledge would help. As for learning graphics it is more software driven process, so google for example intorduction to Blender.

4. rogersands

rogersands

@Ness @BoredMormon

Thanks for reply

So I have a idea of FPS game with some mission charcter to acheive.Would Unity be sufficient for this .I mean for all aspect like animation,audio,graphics,programming.Or do I need to learn other different technology for that

5. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Typically you would build art assets in some other software. For a 3D game you would typically use something like Maya, 3D max or blender.

6. rogersands

rogersands

Ok Apart from art assets Do i need any other software for game development other than Unity?

7. rogersands

rogersands

and what are the hardware requirements for game development system in unity?

8. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

9. MD_Reptile

MD_Reptile

Ok coming from java is a decent starting point, it's similar to c# in many ways. Now like said above start working on something.

I wouldn't say make an fps, unless you stick to fairly basic gameplay and art expectations, only because you might run out of steam real quick trying to make something complex.