Search Unity

What are some tips?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by xBADBEALx, Jan 1, 2023.

1. xBADBEALx

xBADBEALx

This is my first time trying to make a game so I was looking to see if anyone could give me some advice. My friend was saying how he wanted more train based games not like Train Sim but more like Choo Choo Charles and so I'm trying to do something similar with the train aspect but bigger, so if anyone has any tips could you please tell me some?

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I think that's too vague to get any good tips. To get specific answers, you need to ask specific questions.

I'll throw out a few general tips anyway:
    • Buy and use Script Inspector 3. It's awesome.
    • Code a little, test a little. Don't write a whole bunch of code and then test it.
    • Break big, complex problems down into smaller, simpler problems, and then tackle those one at a time.
    • When you run into problems, ask specific questions here. Use the "Insert Code" button in the toolbar to properly format your code.
    Good luck!

3. AngryProgrammer

AngryProgrammer

You can do a lot in Unity. The truth is, it doesn't just happen by itself.

The question is in the Getting Started section, so I assume you're at the very beginning. I give my advice based on the fact that I am a programmer professionally, and I get to know Unity as a hobby.
    1. If you set a goal, you need to realistically look at the time it takes to achieve it. You need to specify a time frame in which you close certain sections of work. Is my project realistic to close in a month, a year or five years?