Search Unity

What animation software is everyone using

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Shadowing, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Shadowing

Shadowing

I'm new to animation but what software is everyone using to animate a humanoid walking etc..
    I see there is lots of movements to use in the asset store. Probably all I need too. Fbx file type.
    I've just spent 12 hours trying to get 3ds 2014 to work. Finally figured out how to add a bip walking motion from a bip file I found online.

I was wondering if there is some better software out that that only does animation and nothing else.
    Or the easiest one to use where I just add in a fbx file would be really nice.

thanks ahead of time for any responses

2. hopeful

hopeful

First, reference all the free stuff in the asset store with animations. Why make an animation when you can find a suitable one for free?

Then maybe look into something like Skele, which is available in the Unity store, or even Blender, which is a free standalone program.

I'm new to animation as well, but that's how it looks to me.

3. Shadowing

Shadowing

thanks for the reply hopeful

That's what I meant. I'm not looking to make any new animations. I'm just looking to load my model into a program so I can apply the animation I find in the asset store so I can have it as an asset for Unity.

I bought a model on turbosquid.com yesterday and loaded it into 3ds max and I can see the rigid body through the skin of the model. Not sure what the deal is with that. talking to turboquid about it now.

Seems to be so many compatible issues with this stuff

4. hopeful

hopeful

If I'm understanding you correctly, if you aren't trying to create new animations you don't need to add animations to a FBX using an outside program. That's how the legacy system operates, but with mecanim you apply existing animations inside Unity using a mecanim state machine (aka "animator").