Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Welcome

Discussion in 'PSM' started by liortal, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. liortal

    liortal

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,562
    Hey!

    Anyone else in here?

    Did you manage to build your game for Vita?
     
  2. Lioncirth

    Lioncirth

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    hey!

    Still working on proto-type for my game.

    Was targeting iOS and Android but thought I might as well also do it for Vita :)
     
  3. Jonny-Roy

    Jonny-Roy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    666
    Yeah, you are not alone, but I'm still in port mode at the moment, I think a few weeks before I'm beta ready :)
     
  4. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    739
    I still get the "Your license does'nt cover PS Vita publishing" in the publish dialog with the Unity for PSM preview

    Anybody else has that problem ?

    Update:

    Forget that - i was too dumb to notice the big blue PSM Export option :confused:
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  5. Amitloaf

    Amitloaf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    Hello! I'm just now trying to build my game for the vita. It's a big game so I hope it works :)
     
  6. jesusluvsyooh

    jesusluvsyooh

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    I've followed the instructions, and my unity is getting stuck on searching for psm device when building, got development assistant for unity open, and vitas plugged in, still trying to get past that part haha

    Edit: A restart of laptop fixed this. Should've known :cool: Now just trying to get the publisher key working, keeps giving me a SCE server error, am i connected to the internet? >_<
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014
  7. Amitloaf

    Amitloaf

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Posts:
    97
    After some fiddling with everything i managed to get it to work! So the game itself bugs out after a bit, but seeing it on my vita is amazing. Now I just need to find out how to debug this :D
     
  8. BrUnO-XaVIeR

    BrUnO-XaVIeR

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,687
    All I want to know is if the “constraints” for PSM still applies.
    I mean, PSM forces you to a limited hardware budget because they want you to support all PSM devices, not just Vita.
    If you can use ALL PsVita’s power would be great, but I fear that is still not the case so if your game is complex you would need to go with a Vita DevKit.
     
  9. Jonathan-Bro

    Jonathan-Bro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    So I attended the UNITE japan event today. Here are some highlights I got from it:

    1. PSM for unity will (is) free
    2. This is a public preview version
    3. Official version out this summer based on 4.3
    4. Will be packaged with unity 5 late summer or fall.
    5. Cannot currently publish to the store yet.
    6. Cannot use back touch yet but definitely implement it.
    7. Performance is very negligible with vita dev kit
     
  10. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    739
    Can you elaborate would you mean by this ?

    As you wrote it, it would mean that there is almost no performance at all ....:(

    I guess you meant to write that performance DIFFERENCES to the native Devkit are negligible ?
     
  11. BrUnO-XaVIeR

    BrUnO-XaVIeR

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,687
    Last time I checked, PSM is limited to 96mb of RAM. Because of the lower end android devices.
    Don’t expect to build super cool Vita games with that unless they add a way to surpass that limitation for Vita in the future.
     
  12. Jonathan-Bro

    Jonathan-Bro

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Yes, my bad. Performance diff is almost negligible.
     
  13. Lioncirth

    Lioncirth

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    I am a little confused, would appreciate any clarity :)

    I have applied and been approved for a PS Vita Developers License, is that not what is used for this as I thought Playstation Mobile license is different?
     
  14. spacefrog

    spacefrog

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Posts:
    739
  15. GrahamReeves

    GrahamReeves

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    I also got this error, I needed to change my proxy settings in the "Publishing Utility For Unity" (File -> Proxy settings) from "System/internet explorer default" to "No Proxy"

    And then it worked.
     
  16. jesusluvsyooh

    jesusluvsyooh

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Bahaha, confirmed, it got me passed that error (now just the no key associated with the account, I'm still waiting for sony to confirm my licence on that one)
    But yes, confirmed, fixed it, will pass that on to others i see with the same error, cheers ;)
    IE strikes again!
     
  17. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,287
    If you have been approved as a Vita developer, then you need a Vita DevKit and can make retail games. This forum, the blog post today, and the public preview is for the PSM publishing option, which allows a regular consumer Vita to be used to make and test games. Think of PSM as the Sony equivalent to Apple's iOS world of developers making games that run on their phones and iPads.
     
  18. icurafu

    icurafu

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    It's a different virtual machine and it is only for the Vita. I don't think those restrictions apply anymore. I'm anxious for someone to do a quick memory check.

    For anyone's information, the Vita has 512MB of RAM and 128 MB of VRAM. A small ammount of the RAM is reserved for the OS.
     
  19. BrUnO-XaVIeR

    BrUnO-XaVIeR

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,687
    What I was trying to say here is, PSM won't let you use all that ram since it locks you with the 96mb and some more limitations like no way to compress textures.
    So if your app in Unity for PSM exceeds more than 96mb of ram usage, your app most likely will crash even though Vita has all that 512mb to use.
    This is imposed by the PSM devs, they 'consider' removing this limitation, but for what I see nothing have changed on the subject since 2012.
     
  20. GMM

    GMM

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    301
    Not sure if this holds true for Unity PSM actually. Looking at the Unite Japan slides regarding PSM we can see that Unity can achieve performance that is pretty identical to the standalone Vita builds, so it does seem like Unity PSM can access far more resources than what can be optained using the normal PSM SDK. We still need to see if Unity PSM is RAM limited like the normal PSM SDK.

    This is unless that you of course have tested if there are RAM limitations on the current release.
     
  21. icurafu

    icurafu

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    And that is what I mean by seperate VMs. The PSM VM is different from the Unity PSM VM, so we're yet to understand the limitations. You can't run Unity PSM apps on the old PSM VM.

    The original PSM had more limitations than just the 96MB limit. It also had severely gimped virtual hardware and network performance for some reason.
     
  22. Lioncirth

    Lioncirth

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    111
    Ah understood - Thank you :)

     
  23. cubaschi

    cubaschi

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    how long did it take for you to receive your license?

    Thx,

    Simon
     
  24. Spidyy

    Spidyy

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Posts:
    184
    Hello there, just received my license after roughly 13 working days. :]