Search Unity

Weird error when i buil and run game "couldn't swtich to requested monitor resolutuon "help please

Discussion in 'Windows' started by SamiRehman1997, Apr 29, 2019.

  1. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Well, it's both Unity issue and "something on your PC" issue. The reason it fails in the first place is something going wrong on your machine. And the fact that fallback path fails is a Unity issue. And that's what I'll fix.

    I'm glad to hear this is working. I'll get this fix into a Unity release and let you know when it's ready to be downloaded. This might take a couple weeks.
     
  3. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    i will change my laptop in couple of months untill then this update will fix it right? though this build is taking long in launching after made by unity logo it stays on black screen for like 10 to 15 seconds.also it'll be helpful if can suggest somethings to fix this pc issue i have tried every driver available
     
  4. ScottHerz

    ScottHerz

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    FWIW, I'm having the same problem on every Dell laptop I've tried to run our executable on in our company.
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Would you be up for testing a build out for me to see if the fix fixes it for you too?
     
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    At this point, you should probably reinstall Windows.
     
  7. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    I have tried to reinstall Windows 3 to 4 times but I'll do that since they have released new version
     
  8. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    I think I have another workaround. I think this issue didn't exist in Unity 2018.4, so if it's feasible, you could downgrade Unity version until I fix it.
     
  9. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    yes i am using unity 2018. and i just reinstall windows by completely deleteing all partition and data. still same problem, i think we should test the way we did with unity 2019 builds but this time builds made with 2018 version to see if it fails and goes to fallback path in 2018 version. btw tell me whenever that fix update is availble.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  10. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    So when that update coming i need to build my project
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    It should be available for download in a couple of weeks. The fix landed to 2020.1 over the weekend and I'm going to be backporting it to 2019.3 and 2019.2 today.
     
  12. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    alright thanks, i hope it fixes soon i have moved my project to 2019 needed to use some new packages.
     
  13. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    The fix landed to 2019.2.6f1. It should come out within 2 weeks.
     
  14. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    alright thanks man, what about unity 2019.3 will that update have this fix?
     
  15. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Yes, it landed to 2019.3.0b4.
     
  16. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    thank you
     
  17. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    upload_2019-9-21_8-52-21.png

    it's out i haven't downloaded it yet, but thank you so much. i hope it work now
     
  18. sandbox_dds

    sandbox_dds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, Is there any way to download this patch for version 2019.2.3f1?
     
  19. sandbox_dds

    sandbox_dds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I received this message error in Unity 2019.2.3f1.

    I make a build for Windows with x86 architecture selected.
     
  20. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    no fix comes in 2019.2.6
     
  21. SamiRehman1997

    SamiRehman1997

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    worked for me your problem will be different
     
  22. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Hi guys, apparently we have the similar problem also currently it only appears on our clients station.
    The case is game crashes randomly when he changes resolutions on exclusive fullscreen mode. Had difficulty in reproducing the problem in my station, but I got some crash and manage to get the logs. Can you look at it?

    Using 2019.3.0b8

    Output log:


    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\ResourcePolicyClient.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\avrt.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Windows\System32\avrt.dll'
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Ansel\Tools\NvCameraWhitelisting64.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Unloaded 'C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Ansel\Tools\NvCameraWhitelisting64.dll'
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\xinput1_3.dll'.
    DXGI WARNING: IDXGIFactory::CreateSwapChain: Blt-model swap effects (DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_DISCARD and DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_SEQUENTIAL) are legacy swap effects that are predominantly superceded by their flip-model counterparts (DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_FLIP_SEQUENTIAL and DXGI_SWAP_EFFECT_FLIP_DISCARD). Please consider updating your application to leverage flip-model swap effects to benefit from modern presentation enhancements. More information is available at http://aka.ms/dxgiflipmodel. [ MISCELLANEOUS WARNING #294: ]
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\TextInputFramework.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\CoreUIComponents.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\CoreMessaging.dll'.
    '' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\ntmarta.dll'.
    '.exe' (Win32): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\OneCoreCommonProxyStub.dll'.

    Also upon changing resolution, it sometimes also mess up with other applications positions. (e,g, Spotify, etc)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
  23. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Also there are times, when the game is not crashing or anything, No weird logs on visual studio. i just can't click it and its blocking my 2nd display. I need to force exit(taskmanager) the game in-order to close it.
     
  24. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    This particular issue is fixed in 2019.2.16f1 and 2019.3.0f2.

    As for the crash: do you have any logs or dumps from an actual crash? That DirectX warning isn't actually causing any issues: it's by design.
     
  25. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    I've tried attaching it to VS, there are no error logs. it seems like it not crash but game is not responsive, meaning its on the screen but i can't click it after resolution change and its block the view of one of the display. Player log seems okay too.
     
  26. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    Okay so that is probably the same issue that I mentioned is fixed.
     
  27. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    It is fixed on 2019.3.0b12 onwards?
     
  28. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    No, it's fixed in 2019.2.16f1 and 2019.3.0f2. None of them are out yet, but 2019.3.0f2 should be out very soon.
     
  29. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Alright, thanks looking forward to it.
     
  30. dhon2407

    dhon2407

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    In case, we will roll back our Unity version which has the most stable exclusive fullscreen implementation?
     
  31. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,680
    I'm not exactly sure. I believe the fullscreen hang was introduced as part of 2019.x at some point.