Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Weird error message when hit play with MARS installed

Discussion in 'Unity MARS' started by edwon, Jan 24, 2021.

  1. edwon

    edwon

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    Getting a weird bug when hit play in Unity 2020.2.0.f1 and MARS (latest version, downloaded January 19, 2021)

    FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
    System.Text.StringBuilder.FormatError () (at <9577ac7a62ef43179789031239ba8798>:0)
    System.Text.StringBuilder.AppendFormatHelper (System.IFormatProvider provider, System.String format, System.ParamsArray args) (at <9577ac7a62ef43179789031239ba8798>:0)
    System.String.FormatHelper (System.IFormatProvider provider, System.String format, System.ParamsArray args) (at <9577ac7a62ef43179789031239ba8798>:0)
    System.String.Format (System.String format, System.Object[] args) (at <9577ac7a62ef43179789031239ba8798>:0)
    UnityEngine.SubsystemsImplementation.SubsystemDescriptorStore.RegisterDescriptor[TDescriptor,TBaseTypeInList] (TDescriptor descriptor, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] storeInList) (at /Users/bokken/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/Subsystems/SubsystemDescriptorStore.cs:61)
    UnityEngine.SubsystemsImplementation.SubsystemDescriptorStore.RegisterDescriptor (UnityEngine.SubsystemsImplementation.SubsystemDescriptorWithProvider descriptor) (at /Users/bokken/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/Subsystems/SubsystemDescriptorStore.cs:10)
    UnityEngine.XR.ARSubsystems.XRCameraSubsystem.Register (UnityEngine.XR.ARSubsystems.XRCameraSubsystemCinfo cameraSubsystemParams) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.xr.arsubsystems@4.1.1/Runtime/CameraSubsystem/XRCameraSubsystem.cs:572)
    Unity.MARS.XRSubsystem.CameraSubsystem.Register () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.mars-ar-foundation-providers@1.2.0/Editor/MARSXRSubsystem/CameraSubsystem.cs:83)
     
  2. CiaranWills

    CiaranWills

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    Hmm, I haven't seen this happen before. What OS are you on? And what is in your scene?

    I'd try updating to the latest AR Foundation (and AR Subsystem) packages and seeing if the issue persists.
     
  3. edwon

    edwon

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    I gave up, MARS is just too heavyweight and expensive for me. I believe in the dream but the current implementation as a huge plugin (instead of a bunch of small packages) and pricing scheme is just too much for me to handle right now.
     
  4. StayTalm_Unity

    StayTalm_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Posts:
    182
    Hello @edwon

    That specific error is confusing, and something that I've fixed, that's making it way to a Unity release. It's something that affects XR.SDK systems as a whole.
    Something seems to be registering our simulation tools twice, which we don't have an open repro for. Have you done anything specific in the Project Settings -> XR Management panel, or any steps that would affect the [RuntimeInitializeOnLoad] attribute within your personal project?
     
  5. CiaranWills

    CiaranWills

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    If you don't mind, could you tell us if you had Reload Domain turned off under Enter Play Mode Options in the Editor Project Settings?

    upload_2021-1-25_17-56-30.png
     
  6. edwon

    edwon

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    Yes I had Enter Play Mode Options with Reload Domain turned off (reload scene was on)

    I'm using Unity 2020.2.0f1
     
  7. mtschoen

    mtschoen

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Posts:
    196
    Does the issue occur if you turn the domain reload back on? If that's the case, we can focus on fixing the issue with fast domain reload.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2021