Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

webplayer file size

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by mjjw, Jul 2, 2006.

  1. mjjw

    mjjw

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Is it just me or did duplicating the one level in my Unity project and exporting to web player double the size?

    I thought that it would add a few kilobytes as most of the data (textures, meshes, etc) would be shared between the levels?

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Martin
     
  2. Morgan

    Morgan

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,223
    My one level file is about 2.5 MB, which is only about half of the overall unityweb size.

    Did you dupe in Finder or in Unity's project list? I know that doing file management outside of Unity can have weird consequences (because of missing metadata).
     
  3. mjjw

    mjjw

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    It would have been from within Unity. The odd things is I removed the new level and re-duped it. Now my web player is only about 100k larger than only one level.

    Maybe I did something else wrong without realising it.
     
  4. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
  5. mjjw

    mjjw

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Thanks! I also figured out why the size doubled. I have two textures, that were unwittingly huge that were each used only on one of the levels. The second texture was always in the hierarchy but not used until I dragged it onto the second level.

    I guess I should have realised what was hapenning. :oops:

    Just curious: Is there a way to specify per-build texture import settings? So that e.g. on the webplayer all textures are half resolution?
     
  6. dacloo

    dacloo

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    469
    If you right-click on the texture, choose import settings. There you can set the "max texture size".
     
  7. mjjw

    mjjw

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    I can't see where in that dialog it gives you per build import settings. E.g. I want the web player to use 256 textures and the game build to use 512 textures, web player to use 32 textures instead of 64 textures.
     
  8. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,203
    At the moment you cant give per build texture size settings.

    But it obviously makes sense for web and standalone deployment so we are considering it for 1.6.