Search Unity

WebGL to Wordpress

Discussion in 'Web' started by Twist-Games, May 18, 2020.

1. Twist-Games

Twist-Games

Hey, i'm new to websites & webgl. I just made my game in Unity & i then i've been trying to figure out how to get my game working in wordpress. I have been trying for pretty long now & i still have no idea at all.
    So first off, i can't figure out were i put my code from the game & socend of, i cant even find the code...

2. wetcircuit

wetcircuit

Use itch io. It's free and they have solved all the server permission issues (CORS). Easy to embed a game in your wordpress as an iframe (there is an itch logo back to your itch page).
    Using itch to host your webgl projects is similar to using youtube to host videos – of course you can host large videos yourself in all compatible formats, but there's a free service that does the complicated part (and yt is way more problematic than itch, imho)

NMJ_GD and Twist-Games like this.
  3. Twist-Games

Twist-Games

How about acces. Is there some way i can make it private, so you can only acces the game, through the embed version?

4. Twist-Games

Twist-Games

w
    But i dont htink its pssobile to play a game on itch.io through the browser?

5. wetcircuit

wetcircuit

WebGL is on the browser. I have several.

similar to yt, your project can be "unlisted" on itch, and "hidden" on your landing page. There is a small itch io logo when you embed on your site (I decided I can live with it).

They solve a lot of the cryptic internet problems, and they allow some re-styling of the host pages (which are part of your iframe embed)…. More important you can upload your WebGL build as-is (just zip the folder), set the permissions to "Playable in Browser", and it works.

I tried for a month to get my webGL builds to show on my own WP when uploaded to my webhost. I never got that working, and I've been running several WP sites for years so not exactly a newbie.