Search Unity

WebGL: "both async and sync fetching of the wasm failed". Build and runs works, fails when uploading

Discussion in 'Web' started by Mikyjax, Aug 3, 2020.

1. Mikyjax

Mikyjax

Hello,
    I tried to build the most simple WebGL application possible with Unity 2020.1 as I was having issue with uploading my game. I thought it was the game itself so I tried a very simple project.

One label showing "Test"

While build and run works flawlessly locally, I tried to upload it on my ftp and get a few errors.
    "Both async and sync fetching of the wasm failed"

Then the loading is stuck at 90%
    I have the same behavior in Firefox and Chrome.
    See errors here:
    www.awakendreamsprod.com

Hope you can help, thanks in advance!

MilenaRocha likes this.
  2. Mikyjax

Mikyjax

enabling Decompression fallback fixed my issue.. Now I'm not sure it's a good thing...
    I have no experience with online application.
    Should I do something else?
    Thanks

3. Kjelle69

Kjelle69

I got the same issue where a simple application stopped at 90%.
    Disabled the compression in Player settings - Publishing settings - Compression format and then it worked. At least in MS Edge.

4. anthonykwinters

anthonykwinters

I'm having the same issue as the original post. I have disabled compression and I still get the same error. Any other ideas?

5. murdoc911

murdoc911

yeah, same probleme here...

6. MaskedMouse

MaskedMouse

There is one bug where if you use "Filenames as hashes" together with a compressed build (gzip or brotli) then decompression will fail. Even with the new web.config or htaccess file.
    This is due to the fact that when filenames are converted to hashes they lose their .data and .wasm extension in the naming.
    Which brings me to my next point, they changed the extension a little bit. So mimetypes have to be changed accordingly.

If you're running old configurations you're going to require a new configuration.