Search Unity

web player communication with browser

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by draknir_, Sep 1, 2009.

1. draknir_

draknir_

Hi community,

I'm new to Unity and I need to get this working quickly, so unfortunately I haven't had the time to go through many tutorials or examples. I'd really appreciate your help on this problem!

I'm trying to implement the functionality mentioned here: http://unity3d.com/support/documentation/Manual/Unity Web Player and browser communication.html
    to get a message sent from the browser to Unity3D. Unfortunately it doesn't work for me.

I have done the following:
    - Added a new empty game object to the islands.unity project, named CommObject
    - Added a new C# script called commtest.cs
    Code (csharp):
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    5. public class commtest: MonoBehaviour {
    7.     // Use this for initialization
    8.     void Start()
    9.     {
    11.     }
    13.     // Update is called once per frame
    14.     void Update()
    15.     {
    17.     }
    19.     void MyFunction(string param)
    20.     {
    21.         Debug.Log(param);
    22.     }
    23. }
    - Dragged the script onto the game object (this is the only way to 'attach' a script I could find).
    - Added the suggested piece of code to my browser page containing the unity web player script. It looks like this:
    Code (csharp):
    2.         <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
    4.         function SaySomethingToUnity()
    5.         {
    6.             GetUnity().SendMessage("CommObject", "MyFunction", "Hello from a web page!");
    7.         }
    9.         </script>
    Running the web player works fine, but I'm not getting the web page messages in the debug log :(

Are there any ideas or suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?

thanks,
    draknir

2. andeeeee

andeeeee