Search Unity

Web hosting a multiplayer app

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by reset, Oct 14, 2009.

1. reset

reset

Hi there

I will soon want to host my multiplayer game.

I am a noob to hosting.

What do I look for in a web host package? Considering my game is a multiplayer game.

thanks

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

the webhost has 0 influence on the game.

The players will host the game. if you want to host a game, a webhost won't do it as the webplayer is executed on the client, not the server

3. reset

reset

Thanks for your prompt reply. :D

So I just need a host who will host my web app for the player to access and play in their browser and host a multiplayer session.

I want a High Scores database too - so they should provide a MySQL database too?

This web app will access a master server (say Unitys or DimeRockers) to host multiplayer games?

I have read here that DreamHost is the way to go - they seem good. But I will NOT need their virtual servers. Just standard web hosting?

And considering I am based in Australia, I should go with a US server as the games market is greater there. And the bandwith is better too.

thanks

4. Dreamora

Dreamora

For highscore you need to write a php backend and communicate to it through the WWW class but yes, you will likely want that if you want highscores.

Can't give an insight on their web services, as I'm europe based and don't use US hosting in any way

Potentially, depends on for who you want to offer it.

5. AriPatrick

AriPatrick

Dreamhost's standard package should work nicely for what you want. Basically all you need is PHP and MySQL support, and Dreamhost comes with that (plus more). I know this because I'm a Dreamhost user. :p