Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

☁ Weather Maker ☁ AAA Clouds, Sky, Weather, Water, Volumetric Light & More!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by jjxtra, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. coolguy_platinum

    coolguy_platinum

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    it was gamma. now i have it in the process of changing to linear...
     
  2. coolguy_platinum

    coolguy_platinum

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    everything looks awesome now. thanks alot.
     
  3. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    I've improved fly-through cloud appearance, depth buffer handling and performance. Now available in v. 5.9.13.

    upload_2020-6-2_13-0-19.png
     
  4. will_catkins

    will_catkins

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Hello, when I was using Crest Ocean, the render queue of the water/cloud/sky was not adjusted properly, could you please teach me how to set them so that they are sorted at a right z depth?

    Thank you very much!
     
  5. will_catkins

    will_catkins

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Crest Ocean URP in URP mode.
     
  6. will_catkins

    will_catkins

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Hello, I've turned on the skysphereshader's Zwrite and they will display correctly. Will this have a bad effect?
     
  7. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    hopeful likes this.
  8. will_catkins

    will_catkins

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks,i will try it.
    My method doesn't work . I'm going crazy testing it......
     
  9. will_catkins

    will_catkins

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,in the fly-through scene,when i changed to URP mode,and set the terrain`s shader to URP Lit,the terrain was dispeared when the scene was running,but it displayed correctly in the edit window.
     
  10. lisasims

    lisasims

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    Hi, how do I apply the system time (i.e. current time) to the day/night cycle? I looked in the thread and found a post that seemed to be dealing with it but I just can't seem to figure it out. I am a total noob when it comes to coding. So in other words, I want the game environment time to be the same as real time. Please help!!
     
  11. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    I've only tested the fly through with standard pipeline. URP is so broken due to Unity bugs right now that I would not recommend using it. If you must use it, contact me for a refund.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  12. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    in your update method in your script set WeatherMakerDayNightCycleManagerScript.Instance.DateTime = DateTime.UtcNow;
     
  13. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    FYI all I've dropped URP support entirely. It is mostly broken anyway due to various bugs in Unity, and the support time is too high. Please email me your order # to support@digitalruby.com if this impacts you and I can send a refund request to Unity.
     
    hopeful likes this.
  14. lisasims

    lisasims

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    Thank you so much!! You're awesome! Wish I could code like you...
     
  15. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    464
    I am having an odd situation with clouds and aurora where they end up like this: https://imgur.com/a/VGnGo0G

    However, this only happens when I run the game in vr. This happens with both the _Default or _Stretch aurora profile and any of the cloud profiles.

    I'm using the latest version of your asset and Unity 2019.4.0f1. I am also using the WeatherMakerPlayer prefab.

    I'm sure it's something I am doing wrong... but I can't figure it out (sorry)
     
  16. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    What vr hardware?
     
  17. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    464
    Oculus Rift CV1

    I remade the camera rig and use the newer XR Rig toolkit, the Aurora seems fine now, but the clouds are screwy. If it would help I can upload the completed project for you to see, or take a screenshot of the clouds. Just let me know what other info you need. This is NOT a rush.

    Have a wonderful weekend
     
  18. Skotrap7

    Skotrap7

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Just wanting to check the status of your HDRP support. I see a post from a few months ago that it is planned after your URP bug fixing. Can you give any status update here? Thanks!
     
  19. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    Current status for Weather Maker URP and HDRP is they are on hold indefinitely. I've spent close to 100 hours on URP and HDRP work, with Unity constantly changing things. Latest state of URP has a broken depth buffer texture and screen space shadow texture last I checked.

    I am unwilling to put in that kind of time again until things are absolutely rock solid on the Unity side. My Unity earnings are a small percent compared to my normal day job, and with a family I have to balance every hour. I know this is not what people want to hear regarding SRP it's just a constraint of my time right now.
     
  20. Skotrap7

    Skotrap7

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Hey, thanks for the reply, and no worries, I completely understand. Trying to build a game on unity while these things constantly shift under your feet is rough too. It is a bit sad that terms "Released" and "LTS" still means "completely in flux" right now.

    I do hope thing solidify and we get updated releases (even if there are upgrade fees) of your assets. They are pretty great.

    I don't necessarily have an exorbitant amount of time myself right now, but if you are interested in talking about letting me help out somehow let me know.
     
    jjxtra likes this.
  21. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    698
    I gave URP a try, as well, but just gave up on it. It needs some more time to "bake" to get it fully ready for use and then, once it gets better 3rd party support, I'll return to it.
     
    jjxtra likes this.
  22. antsonthetree

    antsonthetree

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Posts:
    75
    Hello!

    I'm working on a flight sim and I need really great clouds. At first blush this asset looks perfect, but it's a bit out of my price range (I'm just a hobbyist). So with that in mind I really need to know if it will do my one specific cool thing that nobody else probably cares about but I desperately need before I buy it. Or maybe I need to just wait for a sale. Either way, here is my question / scenario:

    I need to be able to see the colors and details on other planes, buildings, etc when I am inside a cloud volume or when they are inside the cloud volume. I understand that the colors need to be faded out - I want that too - but I still need enough of the colors left to infer what they are.

    I'm being specific about this because some of the cloud assets that I've seen just make everything white once it gets covered by the cloud. No faded colors. Just white. I cannot tell from your videos if this happens with your asset or not.

    Could you maybe create a quick screen shot for me? If you could show a thick cloud with a tall colored box in it that extends all the way out, then I can tell how far into the cloud the colors can be seen.

    I would also like to see a view from inside the cloud looking towards a colored cube that is outside the cloud. If I am inside the cloud I need to be able to tell what color things are outside the cloud and vice versa.

    Sorry if this is a big ask, but hopefully you will understand what I'm trying to discover.

    Many thanks
    Ants

    PS - here is an MIT licensed thing that kind of does what I want but is no longer supported and yours has more features. Still very cool and worth checking out:
    https://github.com/yangrc1234/VolumeCloud
     
  23. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    I have a pretty liberal refund policy. If something doesn't work out, just email support@digitalruby.com with your order number and I'll refund.
     
  24. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Quick question.

    How do I prevent weather maker from using some of the cameras in my scene? I have cameras that are rendering to a texture and I don't want the weathermaker script to use them. I tried to explicitly add the cameras I want it to use to AllowCameras array, but at run time it always picks up all my other cameras. I've played around with a few other options as well by it's just not doing what I ask it to.
     
  25. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    Are those cameras tagged as main camera by chance?
     
  26. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    The cameras in the AllowCamera array are tagged as MainCamera. The other cameras I don't want included are untagged.
     
  27. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Setup is as follows.
    upload_2020-7-10_13-44-40.png


    Runtime, pulls in all these cameras and I don't know why
    upload_2020-7-10_13-46-5.png

    upload_2020-7-10_13-46-30.png
     
  28. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    Allright. Seems like a bug. Let me do some digging and get back.
     
  29. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    Does unchecking `AutoFindMainCamera` on the WeatherMakerScript on the root of the prefab help?
     
  30. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    no luck. It still picks up all the cameras. At this point, I've tried a number of different options/configurations. I might try to isolate the issue in a new project.
     
  31. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    Line 538 of
    WeatherMakerScript.cs
    is where cameras are auto-added, something must be triggering that to add your cameras.
     
  32. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    thanks I'll check that out
     
  33. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    WeatherMakerCommandBuffer::CameraPreCull() is adding all the cameras.

    the bug is here
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     else if (WeatherMakerScript.Instance.AllowCameras != null && !WeatherMakerScript.Instance.AllowCameras.Contains(camera))

    changed it to
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     else if (WeatherMakerScript.Instance.AllowCameras != null && WeatherMakerScript.Instance.AllowCameras.Contains(camera))
     
  34. Kev00

    Kev00

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    I spoke too soon, doing that will cause cameras to be endlessly added when AutoFindMainCamera checked.
     
  35. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    I will keep digging also, something is definitely fishy
     
  36. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    464
    Hello again,

    A couple weeks back I posted that I am having an issue in VR with the clouds. I am still having the issue and I was able to reproduce it using one of your demo scenes.

    • Assets\WeatherMaker\Demo\Scenes\DemoScene
    • Looks fine until I change the settings under; Project Settings/XR Plug-in Management, checking off "Initilize XR on Startup" and "Oculus" (I am using an Oculus Rift (CV1) The Oculus subsetting is: Shared Depth Buffer: Checked, Dash Support: Checked, Stereo Rendering Mode: Multi-Pass
    • I also attached the script "Tracked Pose Driver" on the camera on WeatherMakerPlayerPrefab (required for VR now) The settings can be viewed on this link: https://imgur.com/a/Eyadr2v
    • The clouds get an odd issue when I move my head, a sort of pixellated streak in the opposite direction I am moving my head. You can see this in the link about. In the image I was moving my head down, and the streaking moves up.
    • Or, sometimes, the streaking is gone and the clouds see like they are a little off for each eye. Meaning they look fine when I have only one eye open, either eye, but with both it seems like the 3d effect is not aligned.
    • I am using Unity 2019.4.1f1 - There is a slightly newer version of Unity, and I can upgrade the project if you wish.
    • I am using the latest version of Weather Maker, I updated today to version 5.9.15 (2020-07-11)
    Let me know if you need any other information.
     
  37. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    I don't support oculus rift as I don't have the hardware, please send order # for a refund to support@digitalruby.com
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  38. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    464
    I purchased this asset 3 years ago, so a refund does not seem fair to you. FYI: Your asset worked fine with the older VR integration.

    I'll go look if there is an asset that supports VR, but I don't hold out hope that I will find one that matches your specs. Best of luck, and if there is something I can do to test for you, contact me.

    Peace, James
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  39. jjxtra

    jjxtra

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    1,188
    A lot of things broke from Unity 2017.4 which is the last VR version I had things working in. I am really sorry this has happened :(
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  40. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    464
    Yea, I get it. I have been a software dev for 20+ years... APIs change. Arg. Not your fault. I get it, really, I see how changes have to be made and that not all assets/components/etc can translate to the new format.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
unityunity