Search Unity

Weapon Inventory and how to script weapons.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Tengoz, Jan 27, 2021.

1. Tengoz

Tengoz

Hey guys so this post is going to be a long one so if you don't have to time for it or aren't interested I would suggest skipping! Thanks for any help and your time spent trying to help!

So I want to make a gun/weapon system I am a complete beginner trying to understand C# and the best practices with it. The weapon system should have an inventory to work with like an primary and a secondary type not really an inventory I tried to do that following an brackeys video it worked but didin't really fit the way I want the system to be. What I want is a system where you can pick your weapon at the start and then in the game you can pickup ammo types for weapons like rifle ammo for all rifle type guns and pistol ammo for all pistols and etc. I want to also add multiple weapon types easy to make if I wanted to make a shotgun I could use a base weapon script and add whatever that needs to be added to make a shotgun I just don't know where to start. Would I start with an inventory or a weapon base class or what I've read a lot of forums but not a lot of results. Thank you guys so much for your time and I would be very glad if you can explain so that I can learn instead of copy and pasting a code or something like that, have a great rest of your day!

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

This sounds like an inventory that supports stacking. Look around for tutorials that do this, or else take an existing tutorial's code and add the notion of quantity of each item.

Remember, you will NEVER be able to pound such a system out all in one go. That's not how engineering works.

Instead, start from an existing functional inventory that does some part of what you want and iterate additional features onto it.

3. Tengoz

Tengoz

Sounds g