Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on March 30, 2023, between 5 am & 1 pm EST, in the Performance Profiling Dev Blitz Day 2023 - Q&A forum and Discord where you can connect with our teams behind the Memory and CPU Profilers.
    Dismiss Notice

We can't assign a new GUID because the asset is in an immutable folder. The asset will be ignored.

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by FlorianWpW, Jul 7, 2021.

  1. FlorianWpW

    FlorianWpW

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    I Updatet Unity Version from 2020.2.3f1 to 2021.1.13f1.
    My Problem now is that the Json.Net Package doesnt work.
    The error is the follow one :

    GUID [6c694cfdc33ae264fb33e0cd1c7e25cf] for asset 'Packages/jillejr.newtonsoft.json-for-unity/Plugins/Newtonsoft.Json AOT/Newtonsoft.Json.dll' conflicts with:
    'Packages/com.unity.nuget.newtonsoft-json/Runtime/AOT/Newtonsoft.Json.dll' (current owner)
    We can't assign a new GUID because the asset is in an immutable folder. The asset will be ignored.

    Has some one a Idea how i can fix it ?
     
    Jimaniki and kamran-bigdely like this.
  2. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    756
    Hi @FreshD1,

    You have two packages containing an assembly with the same name (Newtonsoft.Json.dll). This is not supported. One is coming from the com.unity.nuget.newtonsoft-json package. This is an official Unity package and it is probably referenced by one of Unity's packages. You won't be able to deference this one. The other package is jillejr.newtonsoft.json-for-unity. This looks like a custom package. Is this a direct dependency on your project? If so, I suggest you change this dependency to use the Unity one. If not, you gonna have to dig a little bit to figure which package depends on it and probably embed the package in your project and change the dependency locally.

    Hope it helps.

    Pascal
     
  3. FlorianWpW

    FlorianWpW

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I forgot to answer. Yes it was helpful and i fix the error
     
  4. akhileshrao

    akhileshrao

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    How do you change the dependencies?