Search Unity

Waste in art

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Not_Sure, Jul 23, 2016.

1. Not_Sure

Not_Sure

Okay, so I'm no artist. I doodle and play around, but I'm FAR from anything resembling an artist.

All the same, I'm getting to the point where I find myself very critical of wasted resources from artists and feel like the art store has an inescapable problem with it as well.

Namely models never seem to use textures and meshes multiple times over.

Let me give an example, I came across this game model from that AAA thread:

Ha, WHAT?!

So this model (which DOES look amazing) seems to just waste resources left and right. There are so many repeating patterns on her that could be drawn from the same image. Why does the seam of her jacket need to have every single thread on the image, rather than making a small tiled section repeated?

Same goes for her shoulders, her cuffs, and so on.

But instead there's this insane resource hog setup that has 32 1024x1024 squares worth of images.

Am I missing something here?

The same issues come up with environment props.

You see all these props on the store that have textures exclusive to the prop, rather than being able to swap out textures from a limited library that fit on them as needed.

And one last question, why is it you never see multiple materials layered on top of one another? Like, why not have a terrain texture that shows a detailed look at a rock cliff face, but then have another one that is much larger that becomes more evident from a distance?

Or have a texture for the groves in denim jeans layered with the fade and crevices seen at a distance?

Tiled across the model

Layered on top of the tiled denim

Am I making sense?

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

Yes, you're making sense and unity has features for this. For example, IIRC standard shader has several detail textures and detail mask as well, and you can go beyond that with surface shaders.