Search Unity

Warcraft III clone in Unity 3D

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Akonkagva1, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Akonkagva1

    Akonkagva1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Would like to extract models and animations from current Warcraft III game move them to Unity 3D, essentailly port the game to Unity.

    How much work would it be ?

    Akonkagva
     
  2. Hikiko66

    Hikiko66

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    919
    What makes you think you're allowed to do that?
     
  3. Akonkagva1

    Akonkagva1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    let's remove the legal aspect from this question ;)

    and focus on the timewise aspect :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2014
  4. Blacklight

    Blacklight

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,241
    Ignoring any legal stuff, I'm pretty sure that you can extract the models, textures, etc possibly using WorldEdit. There are a lot of models though, and the time it takes to extract them is going to be nothing compared to actually developing the game.
     
  5. shaderop

    shaderop

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    942
    Too much work for any one person to handle on his or her own.
     
  6. Windexglow2

    Windexglow2

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    WC3 models are their own special file type (if I remember correctly, it's not encrypted or anything).
    Terrain models would be more complex : Cliffs and ramps are their own unique model who's vertices are changed to match surrounding flat terrain which is generated from code.

    And that's the easy part. You still have to remake their pathfinding (and have it accurately mimic the fog of war too). And attacking/control, ectect. It has to be done in a repeatable manner too, otherwhys online replays would get out of sync.