Search Unity

1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

wantz mak MMORPG

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MTracerStudios, Dec 4, 2010.

1. MTracerStudios

MTracerStudios

Let's start with the basics.

I AM a noob, I am NOT a retard.
    I DO want to make an MMO, I do NOT think I can do this (yet).

Now, with that out of the way, let's all be civil, Ok?

I have a few questions.

First what would you guys recommend for networking? Unity internal server system? Electrotank? Photon? SmartFox? And, much more importantly, how would you recommend I host the game? At home? Amazon?

And, the question that has had me really intrigued for the past few days: What part of development do I cut to make this game craftable? Blizzard takes years, millions of dollars, and many employees to make WoW. I recognise that I do not have these things. The two things I want to keep strong are: shear playtime length of a single story arc, and diversity of quests/immersion. What do I sacrifice to achieve these two goals?

Thanks,

MTracer.

2. Nikolay116

Nikolay116

why don't you just use search? this have been discussed at thousands locations

3. tatelax

tatelax

Well the first thing I would do is get a budget of some sort. While you probably don't have a budget...you should use Unity's networking to set up a test.

Also this should have been posted in the networking section.

4. MTracerStudios

MTracerStudios

Mods, if you agree with tatelax final comment, please move this thread.

5. stimarco

stimarco

There are a number of options for making a project like this feasible:

a. Cut the first "M" in "MMORPG". It's the "Massively" bit that makes these projects very, very hard to do well. And you'll need large quantities of cash to support the necessary infrastructure anyway.