Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

-

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by kornel-l-varga, Oct 4, 2018.

1. kornel-l-varga

kornel-l-varga

This thread is for all who fell in love with the concept of voxel based realtime GI and is already turning green because of the envy towards UE4's VXGI integration or just simply can't stop drooling over Armory's GI solution.

Now I know that SEGI is out there and is not completely dead partially thanks to @Ninlilizi, and that gorgeous beast HXGI is lurking in the shadows.

But at the end of the day, we are still standing here empty handed.

I am proposing to start an attempt of porting Nvidia's VXGI to Unity.
    I am not a genius programmer, but I am willing to learn and put the effort in, perhaps with some of the more advanced programmer around here chipping in their ideas/advices.

2. Mauri

Mauri

Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  3. kornel-l-varga

kornel-l-varga

Sorry about that, does it sound like its done? I ll change it not to piss people off :)

So far only Flex is on AssetStore from GameWorks right? I mean besides the custom ports like the HBAO and the HairWorks from unity.jp .
    But they are all 2015,2016, its been 3 years..... slowly might just be too slow :)

4. Mauri

Mauri

Well, people might think that you made the impossible possible... :p Maybe you will? Please give it a go!

NVIDIA is actually an official Asset Store Partner. So far, they offer FleX, VRWorks, Ansel and Highlights for us Unity users :)

5. kornel-l-varga

kornel-l-varga

Well first I will follow up with NVIDIA to see if they are planning a VXGI port at all.
    in the meantime, some other approach . :eek:

6. Ninlilizi

Ninlilizi