Search Unity

Vuzix Blade app laggy but runs good on phone

Discussion in 'Vuforia' started by athagar, Sep 17, 2019.

1. athagar

athagar

Hey All, I'm new to Unity and the Vuzix Blade. I've got a basic app that just pops up a 3D model on an ImageTarget. It runs well on my phone, but when I deploy it to my Vuzix Blade it runs really laggy. I had an on screen controller to move the model around but I removed it because it didn't work on the Blade. Does anyone have anyone ideas to improve performance?

2. JulieIn3D

JulieIn3D

Hi athagar, no answer here, sorry...I actually have a question. I have an AR Unity app working on Android phones that I now need to get onto the Blade. Did you do it all in the Unity Editor and use Unity to build what you needed for the Blade? Or did you have to create something outside of Unity to do get it onto the Blade?

3. athagar

athagar

First, you have to get your Blade in development mode, this link will help if you havent already done that: https://qiita.com/hygradme/items/ea8190b89428ca6bbc76 I didnt do the adb stuff.

Then you have to go to Vuforia.com and create a database for the object that your program is going to interact with. This vid will help with that (mute the vid):

Let me know if that answers your question or not. The lack of support for the Blade is appalling.

4. JulieIn3D

JulieIn3D

Thanks. I did already have the adb device link there but appreciate it. I had to get help to get the adb stuff going. I may have the wrong version of Unity for my Andorid App for the Blade, so I checking with Vuzix on that topic. I'm super close so getting excited.

cool AR app creation video, I've not seen that one but I have created my app already. You probably have seen this set from Unity officially but its good, I used the audio pop sound on loss of tracking, that works great. here is the link for that:
    https://learn.unity.com/tutorial/recorded-video-session-creating-ar-content-with-vuforia#