Search Unity

Vulkan for Oculus Quest

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Claytonious, Sep 2, 2019.

1. Claytonious

Claytonious

Is there any news on a planned release date? As mentioned here and elsewhere it was thought to be coming soon.

Thanks!

ROBYER1 and hippocoder like this.
  2. ROBYER1

ROBYER1

I also would like to know, did you have any update?

3. hungrybelome

hungrybelome

I'm also hoping for more official information from Unity!

4. ROBYER1

ROBYER1

The latest Unity 2020 alpha or Oculus Integration for android (through package manager) seemed to mention Vulkan somewhere, I can't find it now but it sounded like they were doing a check before build time to make sure it definitely errors out if Vulkan is added... soo definitely not ready!

hungrybelome likes this.
  5. hungrybelome

hungrybelome

Claytonious likes this.
  6. Gaary

Gaary

Hey folks, honestly I'm a newbie when it comes to VR-development.
    But from time to time I check out the latest capabilities in Unity.

So do i assume rightly that creating VR in Unity for Oculus Quest should become much more efficient with...
    a) Vulkan API Support for VR (2019.3 or 2019.4?)
    b) Oculus Link - Instant project preview without the whole workaround creating *.apk and so on?

Thank you guys.

7. Claytonious

Claytonious

Yes. Vulkan should improve runtime performance (but we shall have to see and of course it will be extremely project-specific - you should be able to do some things to your project to take advantage of it in the worst case either way).