Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

VST synths/effects in Unity?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by PlainMartin, Apr 3, 2008.

1. PlainMartin

PlainMartin

Is it possible to use software synthesizers and effects based on Steinberg's Virtual Studio Technology in Unity, i.e. a Unity-based game/presentation?

(When you want to make a VST instrument or effect available outside of your typical Audio Workstation such as Cubase, what you need is a so-called "microhost" - a software that loads the synth/effect so the user can control it, e.g. with a MIDI or alphanumerical keyboard.)

So - could a Unity-based game/presentation (by means of scripting) act as a VST microhost to a VST, allowing the end user to "play" (trigger) sounds by interacting with in-game objects?

(I am not a developer, so I don't know how the actual integration would be achieved. Typically, VSTs are platform-specific, i.e. a VSTi for Windows is a DLL which is then loaded into the host.)

Has someone done this before?

2. jashan

jashan

It should be possible to do that using plugins. It's nothing that Unity supports as it is. And I'm not sure it does make that much sense for most cases, too, because VST plugins have a tendency towards consuming a lot of processing power (at least some of them), which would then compete with the processing power required to run the game. When the game needs too much processing power, your VST plugins start making ugly noises, when the VST plugins consume too much processing power, the game might become choppy...

It sure would be nice to have some "game optimized sound-effects" inside of Unity, though...