Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. On February 28th the Feedback website will shut down and be redirected to the Unity forums. See the full post for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

VS Code opening project name tabs

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by GMF123321, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. GMF123321

    GMF123321

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    When I launch Visual Studio Code, my specified external editor, by double clicking a script in Unity, it opens some tabs that are based on the name of my project. See the attached image, where there are files opened for my scripts and then to the right of them appear empty files that are based on the names of my projects (Block Breaker, Number Wizard Console) where each one is a word in the title separated by a space. This bothers me and I was wondering if there is any way to disable or prevent it? I am using Unity 2018.2.0f2 and the latest version of VS Code, and this did not happen with Monodevelop. Thank you for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

    jyfc, Sandsten, thehen2 and 1 other person like this.
  2. thehen2

    thehen2

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    39
    I'm having the same issue, and double clicking any script in Unity opens a blank file.
     
  3. Duy_Tr

    Duy_Tr

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I got this bug also. It's very uncomfortable!
     
  4. Sandsten

    Sandsten

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I have the exact same issue too.
    No extentions enabled in VSCode.

    Unity version: 2018.2.0f2
     
  5. GMF123321

    GMF123321

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    This bug stopped happening for me and I believe it's because I added the unity project solution to VS Code.
     
  6. jyfc

    jyfc

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I'm getting the same thing.

    As stated here, try renaming your folders so that the path to your project does not contain spaces.

    I renamed a couple of folders so that the path to my project doesn't contain spaces anymore, and it works.

    Don't worry about renaming folders inside your project/assets/ folder, the problem seems to be vscode trying to find the .sln or another related vs project file so the only path we're concerned with is your path/to/project.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2018