Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug VS Code autocomplete not working

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by PinkTreeArts, Mar 20, 2023.

1. PinkTreeArts

PinkTreeArts

Okay, I'm really struggling here.

I'm a newbie and I'm just trying to get started in Unity but everything seems to be going wrong. It's so hard to learn and all the answers I find online involve so many different concepts I don't understand.

I had this problem: https://forum.unity.com/threads/mac...e-review-the-output-for-more-details.1001014/

I just couldn't get VS Code to stop giving me this error message. I eventually REinstalled Mono-- I still have no idea what Mono is, and I hate installing software without knowing what it is, but I installed it even though I already had it installed. Same with .NET. It would be amazing if someone could actually explain to me what these things are in a way that's beginner-friendly because all I see in the documentation are a bunch of words I don't know and everytime someone explains something they just throw a bunch of other words I don't know at me. It's really disspriting trying to get into game development as a beginner because it seems that in order to fix the most basic bugs to get things working so you can start learning, you are expected to already be a programmer and know all these things. Anyway, I'm sorry to vent, but it's something I just find really disspiriting. When you spend all day trying to learn the basics of something and then nothing works and the only explanations you can find online involve a whole bunch of even more complicated and difficult things you don't understand.

And I really, REALLY don't like installing things on my computer if I have no idea what they are.