Search Unity

VR tips for ski jumping application

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Staur, Feb 6, 2015.

1. Staur

Staur

Hi there,

I am a masters student currently working on a VR ski jumping application. I am relatively new to Unity and Virtual reality.
    I have created a raw prototype which you can find here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/luoj1x57nmzf4te/AACNC3fksvTNO38uiRVw47d9a?dl=0 (2D) and https://www.dropbox.com/sh/db2bkhkmxsc1tz5/AADAGjIoX4o24JQZSVYQgE3oa?dl=0 (3D)

An important factor in a ski jump is the angle of attack, the angle between the ski jumpers body and the velocity. My plan was to use Kinect to measure the angle of attack like this: http://gyazo.com/e5736a3fd62e8c455821f2828a99ac4a
    I am using the Zigfu ZDK to integrate with the Kinect, but the skeleton tracker seems to be struggling when I am leaning forward or/and having the Kinect tracking me from the side.

So my question to is if you have any suggestions to how I could use the Kinect to measure this angle, or other methods/equipment I can use to measure the angle of attack.

Thanks,
    Staur

Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
  2. El Maxo

El Maxo

Just a quick idea, have you thought about using the wii balance board

3. mgear

mgear

I've tested balance board+unity while ago, had problems with:
    - Uses batteries
    - Doesnt automatically connect bluetooth if app/pc is closed/restarted
    - Calibration is sometimes off (that might had been because of low batteries though)

4. Staur

Staur

Hi,
    Yeah, i am planning to use the Wii balance board for the timing of the jump. But as far as I know it cannot be used for measuring the angle of attack. I am considering using optical tracking to determine the angle. Do you have any experience with this?

5. mgear

mgear

If player is "leaning" forward, could see more weight on the front weight sensors,
    but of course it cannot see if you are actually leaning or not..