Search Unity

VR Follow Player (car)

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by JamesWjRose, Oct 13, 2017.

1. JamesWjRose

JamesWjRose

I was pointed to Cinemachine as I am creating a VR race game and I need to follow the player's car from behind and above. Since I am new to Unity I am finding out things as I go, for example I found that when I set the Player to VR follow scripts do not work, that the camera has to be attached to the player object (in this case a car) and in doing so the camera shakes with every bump (yea, no. Let's all get sick!) so I started looking for a script/asset that will give me a more steady (steadi-cam?) solution.

I downloaded Cinemachine, added a CM Virtual Camera, set the "Look At" and "Follow" to the car, that worked fine, but when i set the project to VR it does not follow. This example is with the camera NOT a child of the car (to avoid the bumps)

Before I dig in further I thought I should ask if what my needs are can be handled by this asset.

Thanks kindly for your time.
    James

2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

If I understand correctly, you want the player to follow the car, but in a smooth way, i.e. minus the bumps. As if flying behind in a helicopter. Is that right?

alexchesser likes this.
  3. JamesWjRose

JamesWjRose

That is correct. However, since the car is on a road (actually a hover car, but it still follows the terrain's height) the camera cannot simply be at a fixed level. Right? (feel free to tell me I'm stupid and missing something)

Have a great weekend

4. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

@JamesWjRose You're not being stupid - you want the VR camera to follow, but in a smooth way.

Let's break this down into 2 steps:
    1. Make a helicopter-style follow cam with Cinemachine
    2. Put the VR headset inside the follow rig
    1. Helicopter follow cam.