Search Unity

Question VR Dev on Crappy Computer?

Discussion in 'VR' started by robageejammin, Oct 21, 2021.

1. robageejammin

robageejammin

Hey there! I'm a teacher trying to set up a VR game design class at my school. We have a bunch of Oculus Quests and Unity seems to run fine on our computers, but they are far from VR-Ready computers. Is there any way you can think of to develop a VR Unity game on our computers, and then rely on the hardware of the Oculus Quest to run the game instead of our underpowered computers? That or any other recommendations you have for this situation would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

If they can run a Quest with Link cable then the development will be nice. Otherwise it will be hell.

colinleet likes this.
  3. colinleet

colinleet

That is a terrible terrible idea. Link for Quest == Needing above Rift Requirements (which are the lowest for any tethered headset).

Without powerful computers it will just be hellish to run it in editor over link -- Link has higher computer requirements than running the same app on a Rift, because of the required video compression over USB or WiFi. Link puts all of the games processing work on the PC, with the Quest being a fancy controller tracking monitor running Android.

While they above suggested technically is possible: Developing anything where you have to compile it before running it (dozens to hundreds) of time per development session is hellish in a fully different regard -- of having your iterating speed be cut down to at minimum a 3-4 minute wait before testing anything -- plus losing any ability to tryout or change things in the app while it's running -- as it's fundamentally never being "run in editor", only bundled and built there. All the link cable will be providing as is an error log, and app build transfer. Plus the required Oculus Desktop app for Link won't even install on unsupported hardware -- for good reasons .

Last edited: Oct 21, 2021