Search Unity

VR career question

Discussion in 'VR' started by gaming-harp, Jan 27, 2019.

1. gaming-harp

gaming-harp

I’m a front end developer and I’m really interested in VR development with Unity. My question is do I have to switch fields or can both be done together?

2. ricarious

ricarious

VR projects have heavy "front-end" development needs and unique challenges. But, the skills and details of developing VR are quite different than desktop, web, or mobile apps. The good news is that it's all computer science and once you get your feet wet on Unity and 3D concepts, the rest is just programming. ;-)

I should mention that if you are doing the UX design (not the UI coding), the concepts of getting UX right in VR are completely foreign than anything else you have ever done. You cannot learn this from books or watching videos, you need to build stuff, fail a LOT, and keep experimenting, to build competency in VR UI/UX. IMO everything you know about UI/UX from mobile, web, and desktop is wrong. ;-)

Depending on your current skills, you may have a lot to learn first. First, you must be competent in Unity. If you are not familiar with developing Unity apps, I would start there. There's TONS of fantastic videos, tutorials, classes and communities to help you learn Unity. Second, you need to develop competency in 3D graphics concepts and details. If you have never done any 3D development, you will need to learn that too. Once you are comfortable with Unity and 3D, you are then ready to jump in and develop VR apps. Of course, you will need some VR hardware (Oculus Rift, VIVE, etc.) and a computer that is powerful enough to run VR.

3. Schneider21

Schneider21

Hey, @gaming-harp. Sounds like you may be on a similar career trajectory to me, so I'll share my experience with you so you can see if there are any lessons or tips you can pick up.