Search Unity

VoxelEngine in ECS slower than OOP

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by WolvBoar, Aug 20, 2019.

1. WolvBoar

WolvBoar

Hello. I'm an author of this post - https://forum.unity.com/threads/dynamicbuffer-is-awfully-slow.728663/ - different user because currently I'm writing from my company. If you would take a look at linked thread you would see that I had problems with dynamic buffers performance.
    The scenario looked like this:
    - Entity World - Dynamic Buffer with 128x128x128 elements each 2 bytes
    - Entity Chunk 8x8x8 each with Dynamic Buffer with 16x16x16 elements, each element with 240bytes.
    In every frame I'm using Entity World data to fill each chunk dynamic buffers with render data(vertex,triangles).
    I'm not rendering it yet. The problem I have is that without any call to dynamic buffer I got more than a 1000fps. Note that I'm still creating that 240bytes per element every frame but do not store it in dynamic buffer. If I add only one call to World dynamic buffer in a Job that is iterating over all 8x8x8 chunks performance is cut in half. Adding write call to any of chunks dynamic buffers decrease performance down to 2-4 fps. Now some clarification:
    1. Why are you processing this every frame?
    For benchmark reasons. I have a pretty solid voxel engine written in OOP and I was benchmarking it the same way. Currently my OOP engine is able to work with the same amount of data but keeping constant 300-400 fps with pushing data to meshRenderer and meshCollider every frame with light, uv, culling and water updates.
    2. Why dynamic buffers instead of each voxel as an entity?
    This would require more memory due to storing position for each voxel instead and I need direct access to neighbour voxels - water updates, light propagation, culling.