Search Unity

  1. Check out our Unite Austin 2017 YouTube playlist to catch up on what you missed. More videos coming soon.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

Voxeland - Voxel Terrain Tool

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Wright, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. lulzadr

    lulzadr

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the reply! I purchased both last night and am in awe at how flawlessly and easily they work. I had used Voxel Farm in the past but was very displeased with the lack of documentation/tutorials on how to use certain features. So thank you very much for providing plenty of tutorials and assistance to the noobies!

    A little backstory - I've always dreamed of creating my own video game and I can finally see that dream is beginning to come true, although there is much work left to do and many days of learning and trial & error. I began this journey just a few weeks ago so bear with me if I ask questions that may seem silly.

    My dream game is intended to be a voxel survival game, something along the lines of 7 Days to Die or Empyrion as those are my two favorite games. I'm not sure which direction I'd like to take yet as I'm still in the process of learning to use Unity and other development programs. So for now it is more of playing with all the new tools.

    So assume I have my terrain complete, how would I go about adding the ability to build structures in playmode? Is it as simple as making cubes and then texturing them? Do I need some other assets or coding knowledge to make them work like that? Is there anything in Voxeland I can use to make that happen? Basically I'd like my players to be able to create houses/buildings/whatever with say 1x1 blocks of different materials. These blocks would need to have different hit points assigned to them based on which material is used. I am trying to stay away from my buildings being one solid entity but rather a collection of hundreds or thousands of blocks. I've tried searching on Google for information regarding this but I don't think I'm wording it correctly as I can't seem to get the search results that I want.

    Thank you again!
    -Lulz
     
  2. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Voxeland is a terrain engine, it cannot build houses out of the box. I've made a house building engine to order for some project once that worked well with Voxeland 4. So I admit that it's possible, but requires an advanced scripting level and Voxeland knowledge. Unfortunately I can't share the code - I've signed an NDA.
     
  3. hoodoo

    hoodoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Posts:
    98
    I'm currently exporting my Voxeland meshes to OBJ format and attempting to take that, simplify it to some extent and then apply materials. The problem is that the materials don't really look right, so I'm assuming this is because the UV mapping is incorrect. Is there a process that can be done to make the UV mapping correct?
     
  4. gn0ll

    gn0ll

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    I am having an issue when when I "rebuild" my terrain, all my changes are lost (I have spent a few hours getting this terrain perfect).

    After I got the error, I didn't save, reloaded the scene and my scene is intact. However, if I add / remove blocks or rebuild the terrain, it reverts back to a previous state. Any idea how I can recover my scene?

    I tried saving the Data, and reloading, but this doesn't work. Please help! (Feel free to send me a PM)
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  5. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    hoodoo, Voxeland does not use UV mapping. The triplanar shader is used instead. If you are going to export objects, change (optimize) them with some other tool and then import back to Unity and use together with Voxeland - just skip UV step, it should work fine with no UV channel at all.

    You got the error in the console or you are about your issue in general?
    Are you using an external data file? If so you need to save a scene or a project to write your changes.
    Just to be sure: you are talking about "Rebuild", a button at the top of Voxeland's inspector, not "Generate"? It's the generate button that removes all of the changes (obviously, it generates a terrain, can't be otherwise), but Rebuild should not do so. Just worked with Voxeland yesterday and used rebuild quite often - everything seemed to be okay.
     
  6. gn0ll

    gn0ll

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Yeah, essentially my scene is in this state:

    1. Voxeland terrain looks perfect
    2. If I press the "Rebuild" button at the top right it reverts back to an old state (losing a few hours of work)
    3. If I edit the voxeland terrain at all it reverts back to an old state (guess it calls rebuild after I edit)
    4. If I try to save the terrain data (under settings), saving that data and reloading does not work

    - I am not getting any errors in the console.
    - I do understand that the 'generate' button will overwrite my terrain, as it will just use the generate settings to make me a new terrain.

    I have been using voxeland a ton over the last few weeks, so I have a pretty good idea how everything works (I don't think I am making a simple mistake). Obviously something must have happened to cause things to get out of sync.

    Is there any way to rebuild the terrain data using the data stored in the chunks? Right now I am just trying to save my work somehow, since I lost a few hours. If there is nothing I can do that's fine. I will just be more careful about saving my terrain data (as a backup) every few hours (maybe that is a good habit anyways?)

    Thanks for the help.
     
  7. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    That definitely should not happen, and I've just checked both demo and new scenes, and haven't lost any change after rebuild. Does this happens in demo? If not - then it's something scene specific - so could you please email me the scene?
     
  8. cookimage

    cookimage

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    727
    If your terrain is black what would the problem be?
     
  9. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Is your terrain black in demo scene or in a new scene with newly created Voxeland object?
     
  10. cookimage

    cookimage

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    727
    in demo scene and new scene
     
  11. Ascensi

    Ascensi

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Posts:
    333
    @Wright are you still on Gitlab? I haven't seen any activity there. Have you finished the manual and have now started on Megasplat integration? thanks.
     
  12. Grimjack2600

    Grimjack2600

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    similar to @cookimage, after upgrading to Unity 2017.1.2f1, all of my voxeland land textrures are now black (image 1).

    This seems related to the default triplanar texture -- If I attach another texture to the Materials area, things look fine.

    Because the grass is also handled via the voxeland triplanar texture, the grass objects are also rendering black (image 2).

    Hope this helps!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    I'm writing a google doc draft from my nettop while I'm on a sick leave, just to avoid waisting my time laying in bed. Feel free to add your edits or comments, but don't expect much of it since it's a two days work. I expect to finish the documentation within a week. Sorry for the delay with the docs.

    Grimjack2600, cookimage, what is your OS?
    What Unity version have you used before 2017.1.2? Was it okay there?
     
  14. Grimjack2600

    Grimjack2600

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    I was using 2017.1.0 (I'm not sure what the f# was for that build, maybe f3?) on Windows 10.
    You helped me get the mapmagic and voxel land integration going yesterday via email actually -- however, the application wouldn't build and Unity support suggested that this was a known bug in that version which the upgrade fixed, so I upgraded. Now the build works, but the triplanar textures are black, as mentioned earlier.

    (also, clearly sorry to hear your sick. take it easy and don't stress about this too much on my behalf -- unless you can replicate. This task is 100% optional for me at the moment and is actually a distraction from work I should be doing!)
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
  15. Grimjack2600

    Grimjack2600

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    for completeness, I've also installed the current beta build to see if this is version specific. The behavior in the beta is odd as well, but decidedly different from the old version and the current version.

    See the image attached for details.

    Basically, the voxel render center does not render, however, distance objects render just fine.

    Now, I did figure out a way to make the terrain render correctly again in the beta. Setting the Main Material in Voxeland to use only the triplanar and far layer options corrected the missing land mass. Enabling Horizon causes the central land to be non-visible. Soon as I can. I'll test again in the current product Unity to see if altering these check boxes resolves anything with the black texture.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Grimjack2600

    Grimjack2600

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Disabling the Far Layer and Horizon for the main texture in 2017.1.2f1 did not resolve the black texture issue.
     
  17. Philanthrofist

    Philanthrofist

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Hello Denis,

    I'm still having problems with Voxeland. Land blocks with an index greater than 7 render as black.

    I am using Unity 2017 on Windows 10 using the Direct3D graphics API. I can replicate this bug by doing the following:

    Create a Voxeland game object. Add 9 land blocks, and assign textures (normals aren't necessary for this test). Generate using noise, and select the 9th land block (index 8) as Type. The land block renders black. Changing it to any landblock type lower than 8 will render correctly. Any landblocks added (with an index greater than 7) will also render black.

    This behavior is the same when using Map Magic to generate the Voxeland terrain.

    I have double checked that I am not using OpenGL (as poking around I noticed it had a limit of 8 textures I believe), and I am able to see all the textures in the inspector for the Voxeland/Land material for all 20 slots, but the material preview at the bottom shows black sections.

    Any help or advice on what I might be doing wrong would be greatly appreciated. I'd be interested in knowing if anyone else can reproduce the bug I'm experiencing.

    Thanks,
    Tyrone
     
  18. Philanthrofist

    Philanthrofist

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry, I didn't do a very good job of reading about the problems Grimjack was having. I am not having a problem with all land blocks. Only landblocks above index 7. The exact unity I'm using at the moment is 2017.1.1p4 although I have had this problem will all versions of Unity 2017. I will double check earlier versions if I have a chance. The reason I would like to have more working textures is to better take advantage of Map Magics biomes feature, which works great with Voxeland save for the limited number of textures.

    I'm also sorry to hear you are sick. I hope you feel better soon!

    Thanks Again,
    Tyrone
     
  19. Philanthrofist

    Philanthrofist

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    I can confirm that the bug I described occurs for me in Unity 5.6 as well (5.6.2f1). Sorry, I could not check if I get the same problems in 2017.1.2f1 as described by Grimjack, as I don't have it yet.
     
  20. crimsonmortis

    crimsonmortis

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Sure this has been asked many times but searching and google has not led me to the answers I want.

    I am using Gaia to make my scenes right now but I want run time digging and mining. I will be purchasing a voxel engine tonight and was curious about ore/game object/resource placement. Can I use Gena (spawner) to place them or would I do this with Voxeland noise generation passes? Besides minecraft and 7 days I have had little experience modding or working with voxels. Just can't take the basic unity terrain no matter how pretty it looks with aquas, enviro, and such.
     
  21. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Actually you can use Voxeland with Aquas and Enviro. But can't edit it with Gaia and Gena. It works in an absolutely different way rather than the standard terrain, it has no heightmap or splatmap (control textures) and that stuff, it has a voxel bloack data instead - a losless-compressed 3D array of bytes. None of the terrain editing tools except Voxeland (and MapMagic) can work with it. Voxeland has a very simple terrain generator, I doubt it can place the ore whatever you'll make it with the objects or land type. MapMagic can, but it costs nearly as much as Voxeland itself.

    I confirm that something's wrong with a Voxeland shader in Unity 2017.1.2, while in Unity 2017.1.1 it all works like charm. I'll try to find out what happened ASAP.

    EDIT: the bug is gone after recompiling the shader. Just right-click on Voxeland\Shaders\Land in project explorer and press "Reimport". Might be some Unity upgrade-related stuff.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2017
  22. crimsonmortis

    crimsonmortis

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    So I could go into the scene and manually place ores/rocks etc. through the editor?Using Voxeland.
     
  23. Philanthrofist

    Philanthrofist

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    The proposed bug fix does not correct the bug I am experiencing (which is not the same as Grimjack's bug). Again, this occurs in 5.6 as well as 2017.

    Your health is obviously a much greater priority than a few bugs in an otherwise inspired piece of software, and it's possible I am the only one having this problem. I am posting here in the hopes that other users might be able to reproduce the bug. If it just me then I can focus on what I might have already missed. However if it is a bug in the software I'm sure it's something you'd like to address when you are feeling better.

    The step needed to reproduce the bug in a fresh new project are posted above. Please keep in mind that it doesn't require having 9 unique textures. Repeating the included Voxeland textures (ie using the cliff and grass textures again for textures for land blocks 6-9) is enough to reproduce the bug.

    Any help from the author or the community in testing this bug would be greatly appreciated.
     
    Brandon_Powell likes this.
  24. Coltenney

    Coltenney

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Where can I find documentation for what methods to use when it comes to digging and placing handled via scripting?
     
  25. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    crimsonmortis, yep, it's possible to place objects using the Voxeland the way you place the standard blocks like ground or grass.

    Philanthrofist, I've got this bug fixed for the upcoming version. It's still in beta though, I've got to solve some serialization-related problems first (the terrain becomes white on scene save until the next rebuild). But you can join the beta by emailing me your order number.

    Coltenney, I'm working on documentation literally now. You can see the four new pages appeared on GitLab wiki yesterday, and I plan to get to the short API reference to the end of this week.
     
  26. Philanthrofist

    Philanthrofist

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the reply Denis; you never fail to deliver! Email is on its way.
     
  27. Grimjack2600

    Grimjack2600

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Agreed, thanks for the recompile advice on the shader, that fixed it up without having to push everthing to the beta!

    Now to dig in deep and start working on a water solution.
     
  28. Coltenney

    Coltenney

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Is it possible to use a tool like shader forge to create triplanar shaders to use with the terrain? If so, would it be as easy as just changing the terrain shader reference in inspector? Are there additional steps or concerns?
     
  29. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Yep, you can use the custom shaders with Voxeland. The only additional step I'd like to suggest is turning Color Channels (RTP) Mode in settings.
    By the default mesh texture blending information (i.e. what block texture should be used at current mesh surface) is stored in UV channels. They are cunningly encoded to store 32 channels in 4 float2 values, I guess it would be a problem to decode them. Using color channel mode will store texture blending information without any encode in vertex color data.
     
  30. cookimage

    cookimage

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    727
    Doing the re-import does not work for me, I am using unity 5.5.0f3 . I also use UFPS and UFPSMuntiplayer in my project. Not sure if those are creating conflict with the shader but don't think they could really. In a fresh project with just voxeland it seems to be fine till a restart Unity. Just black terrain.
     
  31. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Let me make it clear: in a fresh project (only Voxeland present) you open a demo scene and can see the textures on the terrain. But when you save this the scene and restart Unity the terrain is black? And it's still black after you press Rebuild button?
     
  32. cookimage

    cookimage

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    727
    yes that's correct.
     
  33. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    It's really an odd thing. Could you please email me the saved scene?
     
  34. Fdudka

    Fdudka

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Hi There,
    I'm suddenly getting something i don't how to fix and your help would be amazing. Things are getting saved and i don't want them to be saved...

    Example : I dig during run time (in editor or on a build) the game calling land.SetBlocks(). If i get out of PlayMode or a build and come back, what was dug gets automatically repeated. How can i disable the saving of the voxel Land.

    I created my own saving and loading for the game and it works flawlessly. But now with the automatic voxel land saving my game gets undesired tunnels.

    These are my settings:

    NormalMode
    https://ibb.co/f9mho6
    https://ibb.co/bSKfam

    DebugMode
    https://ibb.co/hMhNo6
    https://ibb.co/jRUfam

    Thank you
     
  35. Wright

    Wright

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    961
    Your voxel terrain data is stored as a separate asset. The asset is like a prefab, material or the standard terrain data - the changes made during the playmode are not reverted once you exit this mode. The latest Voxeland version has a "Release" feature that abandons the asset file and stores the data back in scene.