Search Unity

Voxel Edge Smooth Effect

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by garrettswanson, Apr 1, 2020.

1. garrettswanson

garrettswanson

Hi there, in advance I'd like to share that I'm pretty new to shaders but have a gist of the basic concepts, so bear with me as I try to sound like I know what I'm talking about here.. :p

I'd like to create an effect similar to the one seen in the picture below. The picture is of an "edge smoothing" effect that makes the voxels look like they are slightly rounded. Another set of examples are some of the pictures in this thread (https://answers.unity.com/questions/1308110/how-to-make-a-tovel-like-cube-edge-smooth.html) from Trove.

Being new to shaders and image effects, I only have tidbits of information that others have shared on how this effect might be achieved, but I don't think I know enough to write the shader/image effects needed to make those things happen. This part is my knowledge so far (which may be wrong): The lightening effect (green arrow) on the outer edges appears to be an effect on the entire screen and not a specific material because it will lessen as the camera gets closer to the edges. The darkening effect on the inner edges (blue arrow) would normally make me think SSAO or some other ambient occlusion, but the fact that it looks so similar to the outer edges but in a darker tone makes me think it is also part of this effect. I believe this also involves using a normal map of the camera's view to detect the edges?

I really just need guidance on all of the terms and concepts that are all involved in this specific effect and how they are used so that I can begin to make progress. Code is also greatly appreciated! Thanks a bunch.

2. bgolus

bgolus

Trove is very clearly using normal maps (as seen from the blocky artifacts in the shading). Could be a second atlas, or more likely a single box face normal map with careful UV mapping.