Search Unity

Volumize 2D Video

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by etn0427, Nov 27, 2021.

1. etn0427

etn0427

Hello!

I am trying to take a MP4 video (2D) and move it around in 3D space but, as the video is moving, it leaves behind a 'snapshot' of the previous frame. I like to think of it as similar to particle trailing, but the trail is a video.

Is there a good way to do this? I'm pretty new to Unity so any solutions/advice would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you!

Currently, I have a Quad with a RenderTexture of the video attached to it and it can move in 3D space.

I haven't found any documentation on how to use a 'Trail' but replace the trail with a video, but that was one of my ideas for this.

2. Torbach78

Torbach78

parameter on camera clearing
    'depth only' and a black background (IIRC) will need to be assigned to overwrite color buffer onFrame for the overlaying cam

this is why images leave a print on the Background using renderToTextures

3. etn0427

etn0427

Hello,
    To clarify, I WANT to figure out how to make the image trail. Currently it does not, but I would like to figure out a way to make the video trail behind the 2D quad as it moves.

4. Torbach78

Torbach78

oh a GOOD way to do it i see. The depth residual is frame based so it lacks smoothness
    Yes simply speaking, but easy no it is not 'easy' like you hope. At least nothing I have seen

if you want the trail to be a residual of the pixels it 'was' you may want to instead leave particles (1 particle for every ~2-4 pixels) that adopts the color of the video and holds it over X seconds so that the video actaully seems to leave a ghost like wisp of itself. Getting the emitter to only emit on the side that is the 'back' needs a bit of a script to figure that out IIRC