Search Unity

Vive Controller Joystick Like Mechanics

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Beloudest, Apr 28, 2016.

1. Beloudest

Beloudest

Hi, I'm pretty new to the controllers and just got my inputs all setup and need some advice on where to go next for my first VR game.

I wish to be able to make one of my controllers work similar to that of a traditional joystick using a normalised x & y value from 0 - 1 or -1 - 1.

Does anyone have some great advice on how to do this? How can I get the rotation simulating a joystick?

I realise that the controllers transforms change within world space but I'm not sure how to lock them into a 2d like space.

Thanks.

2. greggtwep16

greggtwep16

In general the localRotation is in a quaternion I would think if you wanted the orientation of a particular axis (x, y, or z) to get normalized into 0-1 I would convert to Euler Angle (usually Unity likes to keep between -180 and 180) and then divide by 180. You might need to account for if Unity doesn't auto keep the angle in that range to make sure it stays there yourself. For example if you have an angle of 270 degrees you would want to change that to -90 degrees so that your math for normalizing could be simple.

Beloudest likes this.
  3. Beloudest

Beloudest