Search Unity

Visualize skining weights with a shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Dzhange, Jul 19, 2020.

1. Dzhange

Dzhange

Hi guys,

I'm new to unity shader and not really knowing if it is possible to do so.
    Here is my question: I have a skinned mesh in unity, and I would like to visualize the skinning weights from each bone for each pixel, with a grayscale image. For example, if the skinned mesh has 8 bones, it would output 8 different grayscale images, each corresponds to a bone, and the value of each pixel represents the skinned weights.

I really don't know if this could be accomplished with the shader(and how to implement that), could anyone give me some sketch?
    If this is not possible or extremely hard, are there any alternatives?

Thanks!

2. Invertex

Invertex

So you want to see a square texturemap for each bone? Or, more simply, would you just like to visualize the weighting as colors on the actual mesh surface...

The main issue regardless is that with GPU skinning enabled, Unity is simply using a vertex shader to transform the mesh data and then renders that transformed mesh structure with your material, so the vertex weights aren't seen by your shader. I believe there are some custom GPU skinning assets you could take knowledge from to manually submit and interact with the skinning data instead, otherwise your option is to do that on CPU side or submit the weighting data to a compute shader to generate textures to view.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  3. Dzhange

Dzhange

Thanks for your reply! Actually I'm considering generating a dataset with unity, so I think doing this on CPU side makes sense. Previously I've been thinking about submitting weighting data to the shader, but I couldn't find any document talking submitting data other than vertex geometry (and uv) to the shader, do you know any method to do so?